College of Science and Engineering at the University of Minnesota
College of Science and Engineering

NSF Workshop on the BEM:
Bridging Education and Industrial Applications

Campus summer photo - 700x260

April 23-26, 2012
University of Minnesota Campus
Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

Sponsored by the National Science Foundation and the NSF Institute for Mathematics and its Applications, the University of Minnesota (Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA) is hosting a workshop on the boundary element method (BEM) April 23-26, 2012. This workshop consists of a two-day short course and a two-day colloquium on advances in the BEM with educational and industrial applications. Researchers and engineers from around the world, as well as students (both graduate and undergraduate) are invited to participate in this workshop.

This workshop will bring together BEM leaders from around the world to share innovative research and educational practices, as well as define new lines for future research, educational methodologies, and industrial applications of the BEM. A new generation of students will be exposed to the fundamentals, computational implementations, and industrial applications of the BEM.

Scholarships will be given to 30 undergraduate and graduate students from U.S. universities to support their participation in the workshop. The workshop will include poster sessions given by the students. Three students with the top three poster presentations will receive recognition during the workshop.

Online registration is now closed.

National Organizing Committee:

Steve Crouch, University of Minnesota (Chair)
Yijun Liu, University of Cincinnati (Co-Chair)
Ernie Pan, University of Akron (Co-Chair)
John Berger, Colorado School of Mines
Alex Cheng, University of Mississippi
Len Gray, Oak Ridge National Laboratory
Sonia Mogilevskaya, University of Minnesota
Subrata Mukherjee, Cornell University
Fernando Reitich, University of Minnesota
Thomas Rudolphi, Iowa State University
Eduard Siebrits, Schlumberger

Local Organizing Committee:

Steve Crouch
Sonia Mogilevskaya
Fernando Reitich

For more information about the student poster competition and scholarships, please contact:

Chair of the Student Poster Competition Committee: Dr. Ernie Pan, University of Akron, Email Ernian Pan
Chair of the Scholarship committee: Dr. Yijun Liu, University of Cincinnati, Email

Thank you to our sponsors.

BEM Sponsor Logos