College of Science and Engineering at the University of Minnesota
College of Science and Engineering

CSE students and recent graduates receive prestigious NSF Research Fellowship


Rhonda Zurn, College of Science and Engineering,, (612) 626-7959

MINNEAPOLIS / ST. PAUL (04/03/2013)—Fourteen University of Minnesota College of Science and Engineering students and recent graduates are recipients of prestigious National Science Foundation (NSF) Research Fellowships. They are:

  • Lucas Caretta, materials science
  • Paul Carlson, chemical engineering
  • Patrick Duffy, materials science
  • Katerina Georgiou, chemical engineering
  • Daniel Hoff, mathematics
  • Ross Kerner, materials science
  • Karlo Malaga, biomedical engineering
  • Alyssa McKenna, materials science
  • Heidi Nelson, chemistry
  • Lauren Otto, electrical engineering
  • Samuel Schreiner, aerospace engineering and mechanics
  • Ivan Spector, chemistry
  • Bridget Ulrich, chemistry
  • Scott White, chemical engineering

Also receiving honorable mention awards:

  • Andrew Binder, mathematics
  • Colin Clement, physics
  • Laura Clouston, chemistry
  • Ruben D’Sa, mechanical engineering
  • Adam Burns, chemistry
  • Zijun Chen, physics
  • Scott Isaacson, physics
  • Molly Krogstad, physics
  • Maria McClintock, chemical engineering
  • Joseph Simon, biomedical engineering
  • Nancy Trejo, chemical engineering
  • Elias Wilken-Resman, electrical engineering
  • Nathan Youngblood, electrical engineering
  • Laura Zitella, biomedical engineering

The NSF Research Fellowship Program recognizes and supports outstanding graduate students in NSF-supported science, technology, engineering, and mathematics disciplines who are pursuing research-based master's and doctoral degrees at accredited United States institutions.

Fellows benefit from a three-year annual stipend of $30,000 along with a $10,500 cost-of-education allowance for tuition and fees, opportunities for international research and professional development, and the freedom to conduct their own research at any accredited U.S. institution of graduate education they choose.

The NSF received more than 13,000 applications for the 2013 fellowship competition, and made award offers to 2,000 students across the nation.


On July 1, 2010 the Institute of Technology changed its name to the College of Science and Engineering.