News, Events & CEMS Seminars

CEMS Logo on wall in Amundson Hall



Thursday, January 20: Dr. Kumar Varoon Agrawal, École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne (EPFL), Switzerland. ZOOM seminar.

During the months of January and February, CEMS will hold numerous faculty candidate seminars. To protect the confidentiality of the search process, the details of those seminars will not be posted on the CEMS website.


Tuesday, March 1: Dr. Rufina Alamo, Florida A&M University-Florida State University

Thursday, March 3: faculty candidate seminar

March 7-11: UMN Spring Break, no seminars
March 14-18: APS meeting in Chicago, no seminars
March 20-24: ACS meeting in San Diego, no seminars

Tuesday, March 29: Dr. Chinedum Osuji, University of Pennsylvania


Tuesday, April 5: Dr. Christian Pester, Pennsylvania State University

Tuesday, April 19: Dr. Hang Lu, Georgia Institute of Technology

Thursday, April 21: Dr. Srinivas Rangarajan, Lehigh University

Tuesday, April 26: Dr. Ofer Manor, Technion - Israel Institute of Technology



Portrait of Kacey Gregerson

Kacey Gregerson wins John Tate Award for Excellence in Undergraduate Advising

Posted February 6, 2021

Feb. 6, 2021 - Kacey Gregerson, Senior Academic Advisor in CEMS, is among four recipients of the 2020-2021 John Tate Award for Excellence in...

Portrait of Ed Cussler

UMN researchers featured in PBS program NOVA Beyond the Elements: Reactions

Posted February 5, 2021

Feb. 5, 2021 - CEMS Professor Emeritus Ed Cussler and other UMN researchers including Joe Franek, Eric Buchanan, and Cory Marquart were featured in...

Portrait of William Nunn and Anil Rajapitamahuni

CEMS researchers win APS travel awards

Posted February 4, 2021

Feb. 4, 2021 - William Nunn (pictured, left), a 6th year chemical engineering PhD candidate advised by CEMS Associate Professor Bharat Jalan, and Dr....

Portrait of Samira Azarin

Samira Azarin selected for George W. Taylor Career Development Award

Posted January 20, 2021

Jan. 20, 2021 - Assistant Professor Samira Azarin has been selected by the College of Science and Engineering (CSE) Promotion and Tenure Advisory Committee...


CEMS researchers discover new metallic line defect

Posted January 15, 2021

Jan. 15, 2021 - In groundbreaking materials research, a research team led by CEMS professor K. Andre Mkhoyan has made a discovery that blends...

Portrait of Guarav Kumar

CEMS graduate student Guarav Kumar’s research article selected as Editor’s Choice in Green Chemistry

Posted January 14, 2021

Jan. 14, 2021 - Guarav Kumar, a fifth-year chemical engineering PhD candidate, had his research paper, “Dehydra-decyclization of 2-methyltetrahydrofuran to pentadienes on boron-containing zeolites”...


Researchers develop new one-step process for creating self-assembled metamaterials

Posted January 11, 2021

Jan. 11, 2021 - A team led by University of Minnesota Twin Cities researchers has discovered a groundbreaking one-step process for creating materials with...

Portrait of Douglas A. Lauffenburger

CEMS alumnus Douglas Lauffenburger named a recipient of the 2021 Bernard M. Gordon Prize for Innovation in Engineering and Technology Education

Posted January 11, 2021

Jan. 11, 2021 - Professors Douglas A. Lauffenburger (PhD ChE ’79) and Linda G. Griffith, both at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT), were...

Portrait of Chris Leighton

Chris Leighton’s pyrite research featured in Mpls.St.Paul Magazine

Posted December 18, 2020

Dec. 18, 2020 - Distinguished McKnight University Professor Chris Leighton’s research advancements involving iron pyrite (fool’s gold) are featured in the December 2020 print...

TechConnect Innovation Award 2020 logo

CEMS faculty among those receiving 2020 TechConnect Innovation Awards

Posted December 14, 2020

Dec. 14, 2020 - Researchers from the University of Minnesota’s College of Science & Engineering were recently named recipients of the 2020 TechConnect Business...