CEMS students win inaugural IDEAS Awards

Numerous students were selected as recipients of the first annual CEMS Inclusion, Diversity, Equity, Action and Service (IDEAS) Awards. The awards recognize various contributions to the constant betterment of the shared CEMS community. Graduate students John Dewey, Grace Kresge, and Maya Ramamurthy were selected as award winners, along with undergraduate student Michelle Quan.

Members of the Students Organizing Against Racism (SOAR) group including Ela Engen, Gabriela Diaz Gorbea, Abbigael Harthorn, Nate Hartnett, Moujhuri Sau and Amber Walton won as a team for creating the SOAR newsletter, a department-wide email newsletter providing important diversity, equity, and inclusion (DEI) information and resources.

The winners will receive certificates and $50 gift certificates to a minority-owned business of their choice.

Honorable mentions were awarded to graduate students Paulina Eberts, Abbigael Harthorn and Pranati Mondkar and undergraduate students Leah Baker, Tatem Rios and Sneha Sinha. They will receive certificates.

The selection committee consisted of CEMS students, faculty and staff who also serve in DEI roles such as the CEMS DEI Working Group, SOAR, CEMS Womens+ Group, and Mental Health Advocates.