American Academy of Arts and Sciences honors Banerjee

Subir Banerjee, professor of geology and geophysics and director of the Institute for Rock Magnetism (IRM), has been elected a 2006 Fellow of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences (AAAS).

Banerjee is one of 195 newly elected members who will be inducted into the AAAS on Oct. 7 at the academy’s headquarters in Cambridge, Mass. The new class includes scholars, scientists, artists, and civic, corporate, and philanthropic leaders from 24 states and 13 countries.

Among the most well known of the new members are former U.S. presidents George H.W. Bush and William Jefferson Clinton, U.S. Supreme Court Chief Justice John Roberts, Nobel laureate Sir Paul Nurse, actor/director Martin Scorsese, and conductor Michael Tilson Thomas.

An Institute of Technology Distinguished Professor, Banerjee is a renowned leader in the field of rock magnetism and its use as a tool to solve environmental and archeological problems. By measuring and analyzing the magnetism of rock specimens, Banerjee seeks clues to Earth’s climatological history, the age of soil horizons (layers), and soil evolution. In 1990 he helped establish the IRM, a comprehensive facility whose state-of-the-art instrumentation and research attracts scientists from the U.S., Canada, Europe, and Asia.

Founded in 1780 by John Adams, James Bowdoin, John Hancock and other scholar-patriots, the AAAS elects as members the finest minds and most influential leaders from each generation. Its roster has included such influential figures as George Washington, Ben Franklin, Daniel Webster, Ralph Waldo Emerson, Albert Einstein, and Winston Churchill. The current membership includes more than 170 Nobel laureates and 50 Pulitzer Prize winners.

An independent policy research center, the AAAS undertakes studies of complex and emerging problems. Its current research focuses on science and global security, social policy, the humanities and culture, and education.