IT alumnus wins Minnesota Cup

The Institute of Technology’s innovative and entrepreneurial spirit is alive and well as evidenced by alumnus Britt Norton (ChemE ’82), the winner of the 2008 Minnesota Cup competition. The annual, statewide competition seeks out aspiring entrepreneurs and their breakthrough ideas. Norton, along with Christine Horton, is co-owner of CoreSpine Technologies, an emerging spinal device company focused on developing devices for spinal surgery. The company’s technology is designed to effectively and safely remove material from the lumbar disc space.


In the student division, mechanical engineering doctoral student Shyam Sivaramakrishnan, working with mechanical engineering professor Rajesh Rajamani, were finalists for their ultra-small wireless carbon dioxide (CO2) sensors that would enable analysis of CO2 concentration in the breath and indoor-air monitoring applications.

Institute of Technology alumni have been well represented in the Minnesota Cup competition since it began in 2004. John Berger (ME '84, MBA '93) and David Emmons (ME '84) won in 2004 for Arcswitch, a new low-cost optical switch and attenuator for rerouting information carried on fiber-optic networks; and Troy Achterkirch (ME '94), Steve Smith (ME ’94, M.S. MOT ’04), and Andy Vander Woude (M.S. MOT ’04) won in 2006 for a composite paver brick system made of 99 percent recycled materials.

September 15, 2008