Shifman to receive Lilienfeld Prize

Mikhail Shifman PhotoProfessor Mikhail Shifman (physics) will receive the 2006 Julius Edgar Lilienfeld Prize from The American Physical Society (APS).

Shifman, who holds the Ida Cohen Fine Chair in Theoretical Physics, was recognized "for his contributions to theoretical high energy physics, in particular for the understanding of strong interactions and dynamics of supersymmetric gauge theories and for communicating the excitement of science to the public." He will be honored at a special ceremonial session during the APS April 2006 meeting in Dallas.

The prize includes a monetary award as well as funding for three lectures to be given by Shifman at the APS meeting, a research university, and a predominantly undergraduate institution.

The Lilienfield Prize was established in 1988 to recognize outstanding contributions to physics by an individual who also has exceptional skills in lecturing to diverse audiences. Past recipients of the prestigious award include Stephen Hawking and Lawrence Krauss.