Honors and Awards

January 2021

Assistant professor Suo Yang and graduate student Sai Ranjeet Narayanan (mechanical engineering) had their paper on aerosol spread in music classrooms chosen as Editor's Pick in the Physics of Fluids journal. 

Assistant professor Martina Cardone (electrical and computer engineering) has been awarded a CAREER award by the National Science Foundation’s (NSF) Faculty Early Career Development (CAREER) Program.

The Association for Computing Machinery (ACM) has named Distinguished McKnight University Professor Keshab Parhi (electrical and computer engineering) as one of its 2020 ACM Fellows.

Ph.D. candidate Guarav Kumar (chemical engineering) had his research paper, “Dehydra-decyclization of 2-methyltetrahydrofuran to pentadienes on boron-containing zeolites,” selected as an Editor’s Choice article in the journal Green Chemistry.

Alumnus Douglas Lauffenburger (Ph.D. ChE ’79) was awarded the 2021 Bernard M. Gordon Prize for Innovation in Engineering and Technology Education from the National Academy of Engineering.

Associate professor Will Pomerantz (chemistry) was selected as the co-chair of the International Chemical Biology Society (ICBS) Global Council by the ICBS Board of Directors.

Alumnus Tianyi Chen (EE '19) is the inaugural recipient of the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers Signal Processing Society’s (SPS) Best Dissertation Award.

Associate professor Cari Dutcher (mechanical engineering) and her lab's recent paper on phase-dependent soluble surfactant transport was selected for American Chemical Society Editors' Choice award. 

Graduate student William Gurstelle (history of science, technology, and medicine) received an honorable mention for the 2020 Sacknoff Prize for Space History for his paper on Beatrice Finkelstein and the early U.S. manned space program.

Ph.D. students Jerald Thomas and Courtney Hutton Pospick, along with assistant professor Evan Suma Rosenberg (computer science and engineering), received the best paper award at the Association for Computing Machinery's 2020 Symposium on Virtual Reality Software and Technology.

The American Chemical Society and its Young Chemists Committee (YCC) has awarded assistant professor Courtney Roberts (chemistry) with a Leadership Development Award to support her participation in the YCC Leadership Development Workshop.