Associate Professor Bharat Jalan receives prestigious American Vacuum Society award

The Peter Mark Memorial Award honors outstanding early career scientists and engineers

MINNEAPOLIS / ST. PAUL (5/6/2021) – University of Minnesota College of Science and Engineering Associate Professor Bharat Jalan received the Peter Mark Memorial Award from the American Vacuum Society (AVS). The prestigious international award is given each year to one young scientist to honor their outstanding theoretical or experimental work.

Jalan, who holds the Shell Chair in the Department of Chemical Engineering and Materials Science, was selected in part for his exceptional contributions to the field of molecular beam epitaxy, an experimental method for synthesizing quantum materials.

“I am truly honored to receive this award,” said Jalan, who also serves as the director of graduate studies in materials science. “Our work is highly collaborative and interdisciplinary. This award is therefore really a recognition of our collaborative work, which would not have been possible without the support of many excellent students, postdocs, collaborators, and colleagues. I am very thankful to all of them.”

Jalan’s Quantum Materials Design and Synthesis research group focuses on building atomic layers of crystals using molecular beam epitaxy. His work has applications in the areas of materials science, materials chemistry, physics, and engineering, and provides the fundamental science needed to develop the next generation of electronic devices.

This accolade is one of many for Jalan. In the past, he has received the Young Investigator MBE Award, conferred by the 19th International Conference on Molecular Beam Epitaxy in Montpellier, France in September 2016; Air Force Office of Science Research Young Investigator Award (2016); Royal Society of Chemistry Emerging Young Investigator (2017) award; American Association for Crystal Growth Young Author Award (2017); 2017 AVS Paul Holloway Young Investigator Award; and the highly prestigious presidential early career awards for science and engineers (PECASE) from the White House’s Office of Science and Technology Policy (OSTP).

He will receive the award and give an honorary lectureship during this year’s AVS International Symposium on Oct. 24-29, 2021.