Faculty

 

Georgios B. Giannakis

Georgios Giannakis

ADC Professor and DTC Director

http://spincom.umn.edu/georgios/
georgios@ece.umn.edu
(612) 625-4287
research interests: Communications and signal processing, estimation and detection theory, time-series analysis, and system identification

Gedas Adomavicius

Gedas Adomavicius

Information and Decision Sciences

http://ids.csom.umn.edu/faculty/gedas/
gedas@umn.edu
(612) 625-9504
research interests: personalization technologies, knowledge discovery and data mining, electronic market mechanisms, technology evolution

Zack W. Almquist

Zack W. Almquist

Sociology, School of Statistics

http://users.stat.umn.edu/~almquist/
almquist@umn.edu
(612) 624-1895 (Sociology)
(612) 625-1024 (Statistics)
research interests: social network analysis, big data, computational social sciences, mathematical sociology, methodology, spatial analysis, demography, environmental policy, public health, and human judgment and decision-making

Arindam Banerjee

Arindam Banerjee

Computer Science and Engineering

http://www-users.cs.umn.edu/~banerjee/
banerjee@cs.umn.edu
(612) 625-0041
research interests: Machine Learning, Data Mining, Information Theory, Convex Analysis, Computational Games, and their applications in complex real world learning problems including problems in Text and Web Mining, Bioinformatics and Social Networks

Saif Benjaafar

Saif Benjaafar

Industrial and Systems Engineering

https://benjaafar.com/
saif@umn.edu
(612) 626-7239
research interests: operations management, supply chains, and service systems

Abhishek Chandra

Abhishek Chandra

Computer Science and Engineering

http://www-users.cs.umn.edu/~chandra/
chandra@cs.umn.edu
research interests: operating systems, internet and multimedia computing

Prodromos Daoutidis

Prodromos Daoutidis

Chemical Engineering and Material Science

http://www.cems.umn.edu/research/daoutidis/
daout001@umn.edu
(612) 625-8818
research interests: Process and plant-wide control; dynamic modeling and model reduction; systems biology; control of advanced materials processing; analysis, design and control of energy systems

Sairaj Dhople

Sairaj Dhople

Electrical and Computer Engineering

http://www.ece.umn.edu/~sdhople/
sdhople@umn.edu
(612) 624-8837
research interests: Power Electronics, Power Systems, System Reliability Theory, Control Systems, Renewable Electric Energy Systems

David Du

David Du

Computer Science and Engineering

http://www-users.cs.umn.edu/~du/
du@cs.umn.edu
(612) 625-2560
research interests: multimedia computing, high-speed and optical networks, mass storage systems

Jasmine Foo

Jasmine Foo

Math

http://www.math.umn.edu/~jyfoo/
jyfoo@umn.edu
research interests: Applied mathematics, stochastic processes, mathematical biology and medicine

Jiali Gao

Jiali Gao

Chemistry

https://chem.umn.edu/profiles/jiali-gao
jgao@umn.edu
(612) 625-0769
research interests: Computational biology

Demoz Gebre-Egziabher

Demoz Gebre-Egziabher

Aerospace Engineering and Mechanics

http://www.aem.umn.edu/people/faculty/bio/gebre_egziabher.shtml
gebre024@umn.edu
(612) 624-2305
research interests: multi-sensor navigation and guidance systems

Maria Gini

Maria Gini

Computer Science and Engineering

http://www-users.cs.umn.edu/~gini
gini@cs.umn.edu
(612) 625-5582
research interests: Intelligent agents for e-commerce, autonomous robots

Shaul Hanany

Shaul Hanany

Physics and Astronomy

https://www.physics.umn.edu/people/hanany.html
hanany@umn.edu
(612) 626-8929
research interests: observational cosmology

Ramesh Harjani

Ramesh Harjani

Electrical and Computer Engineering

http://www.ece.umn.edu/~harjani/
harjani@ece.umn.edu
(612) 625-4032
research interests: RF/Analog communication circuits, Sensor interface electronics, Low power analog circuit design

Jarvis Haupt

Jarvis Haupt

Electrical and Computer Engineering

http://www.ece.umn.edu/~jdhaupt/
jdhaupt@umn.edu
(612) 625-7322
research interests: Statistical signal processing, machine learning, sparse representations of high-dimensional data, adaptive and compressive sensing

Tian He

Tian He

Computer Science and Engineering

http://www-users.cs.umn.edu/~tianhe/
tianhe@cs.umn.edu
(612) 626-1281
research interests: Wireless Sensor Networks, Distributed Systems, and Real-Time Computing

Nick Hopper

Nick Hopper

Computer Science and Engineering

hopper@cs.umn.edu
(612) 626-1284
research interests: Cryptography, Computer & Network Security

Victoria Interrante

Victoria Interrante

Computer Science and Engineering

http://www-users.cs.umn.edu/~interran
interran@cs.umn.edu
(612) 625-3543
research interests: Visualization and computer graphics

Volkan Isler

Volkan Isler

Computer Science and Engineering

http://www-users.cs.umn.edu/~isler/
isler@cs.umn.edu
(612) 625-1067
research interests: Robotics and Automation, Sensor Networks, Geometric Algorithms

George Karypis

George Karypis

Computer Science and Engineering

http://www-users.cs.umn.edu/~karypis
karypis@cs.umn.edu
(612) 626-7524
research interests: Data mining and genomics

Daniel Keefe

Daniel Keefe

Computer Science and Engineering

http://www-users.cs.umn.edu/~keefe/dfk_iweb/Home.html
keefe@cs.umn.edu
(612) 626-7508
research interests: Scientific visualization, 3D user interfaces, and interactive computer graphics

Alireza Khani

Alireza Khani

Civil, Environmental, and Geo- Engineering

http://umntransit.weebly.com/
akhani@umn.edu
(612) 624-4411
research interests: transportation network modeling and user behavior modeling with applications in transit planning and operations

Rui Kuang

Rui Kuang

Computer Science and Engineering

https://www-users.cs.umn.edu/~kuan0009/
kuan0009@umn.edu
(612) 624-7820
research interests: computational biology, biomedical informatics and machine learning

Satish Kumar

Satish Kumar

Chemical Engineering and Materials Science

http://www.cems.umn.edu/research/kumar/
kumar@cems.umn.edu
(612) 625-2558
research interests: Coating Processes and Interfacial Engineering Theory and Computation

Vipin Kumar

Vipin Kumar

Computer Science and Engineering

https://www-users.cs.umn.edu/~kumar001/
kumar001@umn.edu
(612) 626-7514
research interests: Data mining

Gilad Lerman

Gilad Lerman

Math

http://www.math.umn.edu/~lerman/
lerman@umn.edu
(612) 624-5541
research interests: High-dimensional data analysis and modeling, computational harmonic analysis, geometric measure theory, machine learning, computer vision, bioinformatics

David Lilja

David Lilja

Electrical and Computer Engineering

http://www.arctic.umn.edu
lilja@ece.umn.edu
(612) 625-5007
research interests: High-performance computer architecture; parallel processing; computer systems performance analysis; exploiting hardware-software interactions

Zhi-Quan (Tom) Luo

Zhi-Quan (Tom) Luo

Electrical and Computer Engineering

http://www.ece.umn.edu/users/luozq/
luozq@ece.umn.edu
(612) 625-0242
research interests: optimization algorithms, data communication, information theory, as applied to wireless and wired networks and systems

Mohamed Mokbel

Mohamed Mokbel

Computer Science and Engineering

http://www-users.cs.umn.edu/~mokbel/
mokbel@cs.umn.edu
(612) 626-3025
research interests: Databases, data stream management systems, spatio-temporal databases, scalable continuous query processing, spatial databases, indexing techniques, adaptive query optimization, and multimedia disk scheduling

Chad Myers

Chad Myers

Computer Science and Engineering

http://csbio.cs.umn.edu/
cmyers@cs.umn.edu
(612) 624-8306
research interests: Computational biology, functional genomics, machine learning

Andrew Odlyzko

Andrew Odlyzko

Math

http://www.dtc.umn.edu/~odlyzko/
odlyzko@dtc.umn.edu
(612) 624-9510
research interests: Electronic commerce, coding theory, and probability

Hans Othmer

Hans Othmer

Math

http://www.math.umn.edu/~othmer
othmer@math.umn.edu
(612) 624-8325
research interests: Mathematical biology

Nikos Papanikolopoulos

Nikos Papanikolopoulos

Computer Science and Engineering

http://www-users.cs.umn.edu/~npapas
npapas@cs.umn.edu
(612) 625-0163
research interests: Robotics, computer vision, transportation sensor

Hyun Soo Park

Hyun Soo Park

Computer Science and Engineering

http://www-users.cs.umn.edu/~hspark/
hspark@umn.edu
(612) 301-1745
research interests: 3D geometry, machine learning, control, and planning

Marc Riedel

Marc Riedel

Electrical and Computer Engineering

http://www.mriedel.ece.umn.edu
mriedel@umn.edu
(612) 625-6086
research interests: logic synthesis and verification, fault-tolerant structures for nanoscale computation, and computational biology

Stergios Roumeliotis

Stergios Roumeliotis

Computer Science and Engineering

http://www.cs.umn.edu/~stergios
stergios@cs.umn.edu
(612) 626-7507
research interests: Robotics Distributed Robotics, Estimation and Control for Autonomous Vehicles, Sensor Networks, Inertial Navigation, Human-robot interaction

Sachin Sapatnekar

Sachin Sapatnekar

Electrical and Computer Engineering

http://umn.edu/home/sachin
sachin@ece.umn.edu
(612) 625-0025
research interests: Computer-aided design

Junaed Sattar

Junaed Sattar

Computer Science and Engineering

junaed@umn.edu
(612) 626-7235
research interests: robotics

Paul Schrater

Paul Schrater

Psychology, Computer Science and Engineering

http://vision.psych.umn.edu/users/schrater/PaulSchrater.htm
schrater@umn.edu
(612) 626-8638
research interests: Human and computer vision and motor control

Peter Seiler

Peter Seiler

Aerospace Engineering and Mechanics

http://www.aem.umn.edu/people/SeilerControl/
seile071@umn.edu
research interests: Wind Energy, Safety Critical Systems

Eric Shook

Eric Shook

Geography, Environment, and Society

https://cla.umn.edu/about/directory/profile/eshook
eshook@umn.edu
(612) 625-5970
research interests: geographic information science and computational science

Nikos Sidiropoulos

Nikos Sidiropoulos

Electrical and Computer Engineering

sidir001@umn.edu
(612) 625-1242
research interests: Signal Processing for communications, Cross-layer wireless networking, convex optimization/approximation, and multi-way analysis/multi-linear algebra

Jaideep Srivastava

Jaideep Srivastava

Computer Science and Engineering

https://www.umsec.umn.edu/directory/jaideep-srivastava
srivasta@umn.edu
(612) 625-4012
research interests: Databases, data mining, multimedia systems

Niels G. Waller

Niels G. Waller

Psychology

https://cla.umn.edu/about/directory/profile/nwaller
nwaller@umn.edu
(612) 626-8729
research interests: development and evaluation of Quantitative Models of Individual Differences; Scale Development and Models of Person-Item Interactions in Personality/Psychopathology Assessment (Item Response Theory, Adaptive Testing); Taxometrics, Factor Analysis and Structural Equation Modeling; Psychometric Theory; and Genetic and Environmental Models of the Development and Expression of Psychopathology, Personality, Social Attitudes and Beliefs

Jon Weissman

Jon Weissman

Computer Science and Engineering

http://www-users.cs.umn.edu/~jon
jon@cs.umn.edu
(612) 626-0044
research interests: Distributed Systems, High Performance Computing, Computational Grids

Antonia Zhai

Antonia Zhai

Computer Science and Engineering

http://www.cs.umn.edu/~zhai/
zhai@cs.umn.edu
research interests: compiler optimization and computer architecture

Zhi-Li Zhang

Zhi-Li Zhang

Computer Science and Engineering

http://www.cs.umn.edu/research/networking
zhzhang@cs.umn.edu
(612) 625-8568
research interests: Computer networks, internet technology, multimedia systems, and performance modeling