Georgios B. Giannakis, Endowed Professor of ECE and Director of DTC won the 2019 IEEE SP Norbert Wiener Society Award

Georgios B. Giannakis

University of Minnesota, Electrical and Computer Engineering, McKnight Presidential Chair Professor, and Director of the Digital Technology Center, Georgios B. Giannakis, won the 2019 IEEE Signal Processing Society Norbert Wiener Award. The citation reads "for fundamental contributions to statistical signal processing, especially for networking and communications, and for outstanding mentoring of young researchers."

The Norbert Wiener Society Award honors outstanding technical contributions in a field within the scope of the Signal Processing Society and outstanding leadership within that field. The prize includes a plaque, a certificate, and an honorarium of $2,500. The basis for selecting the winners is outstanding technical contributions and leadership in a field within the scope of the Society as evidenced by publications, patents, books, lectures, etc. Each Norbert Wiener Society Award recipient is expected to present a Norbert Wiener Lecture at the flagship IEEE Intl. Conference on Acoustics, Speech, and Signal Processing (ICASSP).

Professor Giannakis will receive this major award at the opening ceremony of the upcoming ICASSP 2020 in Barcelona, Spain, where he will also deliver the N. Wiener plenary lecture.

Giannakis is a world-renown and field-shaping engineer and scientist who is known best for his contributions to the fundamental understanding of Signal Processing, Wireless Communications, Networking, and Data Science. Giannakis has (co-) authored more than 450 journal and more than 750 conference publications, 25 book chapters, two edited books, and two research monographs, all of which have received more than 73,000 Google Scholar citations. He is the (co-) recipient of 10 best journal paper awards from the IEEE Signal Processing (SP) and Communications Societies, Technical Achievement Awards, the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) Fourier Technical Field Award, and the IEEE Communications Society Education Award. He has 33 patents issued and earlier in 2019 he was named member of the National Academy of Inventors. Giannakis has also mentored 50 Ph.D. students and 25 postdoctoral researchers.

Giannakis joined the University of Minnesota faculty in 1999, and has held the ADC Endowed Chair in Wireless Telecommunications since 2001. He has served as director of the University of Minnesota’s Digital Technology Center (DTC) since 2008. Since 2016 he has also held a McKnight Presidential Chair in ECE.