Applied Mathematics

 Douglas Arnold

Douglas Arnold
McKnight Presidential Professor
arnold@umn.edu
Numerical analysis, differential equations,
mechanics, computational relativity.

 

Jeffrey Calder

Jeffrey Calder 
Assistant Professor 
jwcalder@umn.edu  
partial differential equations, numerical analysis, applied
probability, machine learning, image processing and computer vision

 

Maria-Carme Calderer

Maria-Carme Calderer
Professor
mcc@math.umn.edu
applied mathematics, continuum mechanics, soft condensed matter physics and materials science, with emphasis on liquid crystals, ferroic materials, partial differential equations and calculus of variations

 

Paul Carter

Paul Carter 
Assistant Professor 
pcarter@umn.edu  
dynamical systems, nonlinear waves, partial differential equations,
singular perturbations, applied mathematics, pattern formation

 

Bernardo Cockburn

Bernardo Cockburn
Distinguished McKnight University Professor
bcockbur@umn.edu
numerical analysis

 

Jasmine Foo

Jasmine Foo
Professor
jyfoo@umn.edu
mathematical biology and applied mathematics

 

Ru-Yu Lai

Ru-Yu Lai
Assistant Professor
rylai@math.umn.edu
inverse problems and partial differential equations

 

William Leeb

William Leeb
Assistant Professor
wleeb@umn.edu
applied mathematics, computational harmonic analysis, signal and image processing, data analysis

 

Gilad Lerman

Gilad Lerman
Professor
lerman@math.umn.edu
computational harmonic analysis,analysis of large data sets and statistical learning, bio-informatics

 

mitch-luskin_0.png

Mitchell Luskin
Professor
luskin@math.umn.edu
numerical analysis, scientific computing, applied mathematics, computational physics

 

Svitlana Mayboroda

Svitlana Mayboroda
Professor
svitlana@umn.edu
analysis and partial differential equations

 Richard McGehee

Richard McGehee
Professor
mcgehee@math.umn.edu
dynamical systems, applied mathematics

 

 Norman Meyers

Norman Meyers
Professor Emeritus
applied mathematics
and functional analysis

 

Wei-Ming Ni

Duane Nykamp
Associate Professor
nykamp@math.umn.edu
applied math, mathematical biology,
mathematical neuroscience

 

 Andrew Odlyzko 

Andrew Odlyzko
Professor
odlyzko@math.umn.edu
computational complexity, cryptography, number theory, combinatorics, coding theory, analysis, probability theory, ecommerce, and economics of data networks

 

Peter Olver

Peter Olver
Professor
olver@umn.edu
Lie groups, differential equations, computer vision, applied mathematics, differential geometry, mathematical physics

 

Hans Othmer

Hans Othmer
Professor
othmer@math.umn.edu
applied math, mathematical biology, dynamical systems

 

Fadil Santosa

Fadil Santosa
Professor Emeritus
santosa@math.umn.edu
applied mathematics and modelling, optimization, imaging

 

Arnd Scheel

Arnd Scheel
Professor
scheel@math.umn.edu
dynamical systems, partial differential equations, applied math

 

 

Daniel Spirn

Daniel Spirn
Professor
spirn@math.umn.edu
partial differential equations, applied mathematics

 

Li Wang

Li Wang
Assistant Professor
wang8818@umn.edu
numerical analysis, scientific computing, applied math

 

Chuan Xue

Chuan Xue
Associate Professor  
csue@umn.edu
mathematical biology and applied mathematics