stem-education-grant-thumb (1).png

Duane Nykamp, Jonathan Rogness, and Mike Weimerskirch Awarded $1.5 Million Grant

Posted July 19, 2019

Duane Nykamp, Jonathan Rogness, and Mike Weimerskirch have been awarded a $1.5 million grant from the NSF Improving Undergraduate STEM Education Program to build an open data-driven educational technology platform and run online learning experiments aimed toward improving open educational content.

Chuan Xue

Chuan Xue Receives the PECASE Award

Posted July 15, 2019

The Presidential Early Career Awards for Scientists and Engineers (PECASE) is the highest honor bestowed by the U.S. government on outstanding scientists and engineers who are beginning their independent research careers and show exceptional promise for leadership in science and technology. She was nominated by the National Science Foundation (NSF), and will be honored in an awards ceremony in Washington, D.C. on July 25.

Maria-Carme Calderer

Carme Calderer to the Royal Academy of Sciences and Arts of Barcelona

Posted June 18, 2019

Professor Carme Calderer was elected a Foreign Correspondent Member of the Royal Academy of Sciences and Arts of Barcelona at their general assembly meeting of May 23, 2019. There are 35 Foreign Correspondent Members in all areas, only 6 of which are from the U.S.


Christine Berkesch and Wei-Kuo Chen Promoted to Associate Professor with Tenure

Posted May 29, 2019

The Board of Regents approved the promotion of Christine Berkesch and Wei-Kuo Chen to Associate Professor with Tenure. Prof. Berkesch’s research interests are algebraic geometry and commutative algebra. Prof. Chen’s research interests are probability theory and mathematical physics.


Congratulations Newly Promoted Professors

Posted May 29, 2019

The Board of Regents approved the promotion of Dmitriy Bilyk, Jasmine Foo, and Pasha Pylyavskyy to Full Professor. Prof. Bilyk’s research interests are harmonic analysis, discrepancy theory, approximation, and probability. Prof. Foo’s research interests are mathematical biology, applied mathematics, and probability. Prof. Pylyavskyy’s research interests are algebraic combinatorics.


SIAM Student Paper Prize Awarded to Dr. Daniel Massatt

Posted May 23, 2019

The Society for Industrial and Applied Mathematics (SIAM) selected former PhD student Daniel Massatt’s paper, “Electronic Density of States for Incommensurate Layers,” for the 2019 SIAM Student Paper Prize. The paper, co-authored with Mitchell Luskin — U of M professor and former advisor of Dr. Massatt — and Christoph Ortner, is one of three papers selected for the prize.


2017-18 Outstanding Teaching Assistant Award

Posted May 20, 2019

Congratulations to Katherine Maxwell, Sarah Milstein, and Jorin Schug -- recipients of the 2017 - 2018 Outstanding Teaching Assistant Award. Students submitted over 700 nominations for the awards! The Instructional Evaluation Committee chose the recipients based on nominations from students and on faculty nominations and evaluations.


Montie Avery and Sarah Brauner Awarded NSF Graduate Fellowships

Posted May 15, 2019

Montie Avery and Sarah Brauner were both awarded prestigious National Science Foundation Graduate Fellowships. Montie is a second year Mathematics Ph.D. student studying dynamical systems, pattern formation and partial differential equations with Arnd Scheel. Sarah is a second year graduate student studying algebraic combinatorics with Victor Reiner. The NSF Graduate Research Fellowship Program recognizes and supports outstanding graduate students who have demonstrated potential for significant achievements in science, technology, engineering, and mathematics.


Laurel Ohm Awarded Doctoral Dissertation Fellowship

Posted May 15, 2019

Laurel Ohm has been awarded a University of Minnesota Doctoral Dissertation Fellowship for 2019-20. Laurel's research interests lie in analysis of PDEs describing fluid-structure interaction and her thesis advisors are Yoichiro Mori and Daniel Spirn. The Doctoral Dissertation Fellowship (DDF) gives the University's most accomplished PhD candidates an opportunity to devote full-time effort to an outstanding research project by providing time to finalize and write a dissertation during the fellowship year.


Jasper Weinburd Awarded NSF Postdoctoral Fellowship

Posted April 4, 2019

Jasper Weinburd has been awarded an NSF Postdoctoral Fellowship. He will be receiving his Ph.D. degree this year under the direction of Prof. Arnd Scheel. His NSF postdoctoral research will study the collective behavior of swarms of foraging locusts. Classifying patterns of collective behavior provides insight into the biological mechanisms driving individual insects. Understanding this link may inspire efficient, low-cost methods for locust control and crop-loss mitigation. He is headed to Harvey Mudd College to work with Prof. Andrew Bernoff.