Svitlana Mayboroda headshot

Prof. Svitlana Mayboroda Awarded Von Neumann Fellowship

Posted February 6, 2017

Prof. Svitlana Mayboroda has been awarded a Von Neumann Fellowship, a prestigious appointment at the Institute for Advanced Study in Princeton, to visit during the Academic Year 2017-2018 in order to further her research program in partial differential equations and their applications.


University of Minnesota’s Mathematics Program is ranked 13th in the 2017 U.S News Best

Posted December 7, 2016

University of Minnesota’s Mathematics Program is ranked 13th in the 2017 U.S News Best Global Universities listing - making it the highest ranking discipline within the University. The U of M ranked 38th overall among 1000 universities spread out across 65 countries. These rankings offer the most comprehensive assessment of research universities worldwide as well as by region and country.


Joshua Wilson Receives Science Graduate Student Research Award

Posted September 28, 2016

Joshua Wilson has been selected to receive the U.S. Department of Energy (DOE) Office of Science Graduate Student Research (SCGSR) award for his research project, “High-Performance High-Order Simulations for Optimal Design of Electromagnetic Metasurfaces”, to be conducted at Argonne National Laboratory (ANL). Joshua's thesis advisor is Fadil Santosa. The award is in recognition of his outstanding academic accomplishments and the merit of the SCGSR research proposal.


New Professorship for Mathematics Department

Posted September 15, 2016

Professor Albert Marden and his wife Dorothy have endowed a Professorship in our Department. Starting in 2024, two Marden Professors will be selected every five years from among the exceptional tenured faculty. This marks the 54 years of Professor Marden's service to the Department and the University.

The Department and College are very grateful to the Mardens for making this important and lasting gift.


Math Major Receives President's Student Leadership and Service Award

Posted May 18, 2016

Congratulations to Manju Connolly, a Mathematics and Psychology major graduating this spring, for receiving the 2016 President's Student Leadership and Service Award.

The award recognizes the accomplishments and contributions of outstanding student leaders at the University of Minnesota-Twin Cities.


Tyler Maunu and John Goes Awarded Prestigious Fellowships

Posted May 16, 2016

Two Ph.D. students of Prof. Gilad Lerman have been awarded prestigious fellowships.


Bryan Mosher Promoted to Contract Associate Professor

Posted May 10, 2016

Congratulations to Bryan Mosher for his promotion to contract associate professor. Bryan serves as the Director of Undergraduate Studies of the School of Mathematics. His research interests include mathematics education and low-dimensional geometry and topology.


Prof. Kai-Wen Lan Awarded Morningside Silver Medal

Posted April 23, 2016

Professor Kai-Wen Lan is awarded the 2016 Morningside Silver Medal of Mathematics for his outstanding contributions to the theory of arithmetic compactification of Shimura varieties and its applications to the arithmetic of automorphic forms. The Morningside Medal of Mathematics is awarded to outstanding mathematicians of Chinese descent to en­courage them in their pursuit of mathematical research. The Morningside medals are awarded every three years at the International Congress of Chinese Mathematicians.


Prof. Arnd Scheel Receives SIAM Fellowship & Humboldt Research Award

Posted April 5, 2016

Professor Arnd Scheel has been named a SIAM Fellow and has also received a Humboldt Research Award. These noteworthy achievements recognize Prof. Scheel’s many research accomplishments and contributions to applied dynamical systems and the study of pattern formation.


2014-15 Outstanding Teaching Assistant Award

Posted April 1, 2016

Congratulations to Mauricio Flores, Ryan Goh, and Kimberly Logan, recipients of the 2014-2015 Outstanding Teaching Assistant Award. The Instructional Evaluation Committee chose these three recipients based on nominations from students and on faculty nominations and evaluations.