Tyler Maunu and John Goes Awarded Prestigious Fellowships

Posted May 16, 2016

Two Ph.D. students of Prof. Gilad Lerman have been awarded prestigious fellowships.

Bryan Mosher

Bryan Mosher Promoted to Contract Associate Professor

Posted May 10, 2016

Congratulations to Bryan Mosher for his promotion to contract associate professor. Bryan serves as the Director of Undergraduate Studies of the School of Mathematics. His research interests include mathematics education and low-dimensional geometry and topology.


Prof. Kai-Wen Lan Awarded Morningside Silver Medal

Posted April 23, 2016

Professor Kai-Wen Lan is awarded the 2016 Morningside Silver Medal of Mathematics for his outstanding contributions to the theory of arithmetic compactification of Shimura varieties and its applications to the arithmetic of automorphic forms. The Morningside Medal of Mathematics is awarded to outstanding mathematicians of Chinese descent to en­courage them in their pursuit of mathematical research. The Morningside medals are awarded every three years at the International Congress of Chinese Mathematicians.

Arnd Scheel

Prof. Arnd Scheel Receives SIAM Fellowship & Humboldt Research Award

Posted April 5, 2016

Professor Arnd Scheel has been named a SIAM Fellow and has also received a Humboldt Research Award. These noteworthy achievements recognize Prof. Scheel’s many research accomplishments and contributions to applied dynamical systems and the study of pattern formation.


2014-15 Outstanding Teaching Assistant Award

Posted April 1, 2016

Congratulations to Mauricio Flores, Ryan Goh, and Kimberly Logan, recipients of the 2014-2015 Outstanding Teaching Assistant Award. The Instructional Evaluation Committee chose these three recipients based on nominations from students and on faculty nominations and evaluations.


Ryan Matzke Awarded NSF Fellowship

Posted March 31, 2016

Congratulations, Ryan Matzke, 2016 National Science Foundation Fellowship Awardee. The NSF Fellowship Program fosters and promotes excellence in U.S. science, technology, engineering and mathematics and recognizes individuals who have demonstrated potential for significant achievements.


Nick Switala Awarded NSF Postdoctoral Fellowship

Posted March 22, 2016

Nick Switala has been awarded an NSF Postdoctoral Fellowship. He received his Ph.D. degree in 2015 under the direction of Prof. Gennady Lyubeznik, and is currently a postdoctoral fellow at the University of Nebraska-Lincoln. His NSF project will be to conduct research on local cohomology and D-modules, which are of importance in commutative algebra and algebraic geometry. He will be going to the University of Illinois at Chicago this fall to work with Prof. Wenliang Zhang, who was also a University of Minnesota graduate in 2008.


Alice Nadeau and Marco Ponce de Leon Awarded Interdisciplinary Doctoral Fellowships

Posted February 3, 2016

Alice Nadeau and Marco Ponce de Leon have been awarded Interdisciplinary Doctoral Fellowships from the University of Minnesota Graduate School. The Fellowship provides a unique opportunity for outstanding doctoral students whose research is interdisciplinary and who would benefit from interaction with faculty at one of the University’s interdisciplinary research centers or institutes.


Ryan Goh awarded NSF Postdoctoral Fellowship

Posted January 21, 2016

Ryan Goh has been awarded an NSF Postdoctoral Fellowship. He will be receiving his Ph.D. degree this year under the direction of Prof. Arnd Scheel. His NSF proposal involves studying how external mechanisms can be used to trigger and control pattern forming systems. Such an understanding could aid in the engineering of self-organized and self-mediated structures in many areas, such as micro-fluidic medical devices, thin-film solar cells, and nano-electronics. He will be going to Boston University to work with Prof. Eugene Wayne.


School of Math Receives Two New Scholarship Funds

Posted November 23, 2015

The School of Mathematics has been the recent recipient of two new scholarship funds. The Jean Roberts Fellowship is to be awarded to graduate students. It is part of an estate bequest to the University by Jean and her sister Ruth.