The Distinguished Leadership Award for Internationals is a University-wide award for international alumni, former students, and friends of the University. Award recipients will have attained unusual distinction as professionals in their careers within institutions or in public service. They also will have either demonstrated sustained outstanding achievement and leadership or demonstrated promise of such achievement on a local, national, or international level.


Azwinndini Muronga
(Physics Ph.D. ’02)
Associate Professor, University of Johannesburg
Recognized for his involvement in developing opportunities for young African scientists and efforts in promoting the study of science to the South African public.


Prem Jain
(ME Ph.D. ’67)
Chairman and Founder, Spectral Services Consultants Pvt.Ltd.
Founder and President Emeritus of Indian Society of Heating, Refrigerating and Air Conditioning
Fellow of the American Society of Heating, Refrigerating, and Air-Conditioning Engineers


Ajay Pandey
(CSci M.S.’00, Ph.D.’03)
Managing Director, Maharashtra State Electricity Distribution Company Ltd.


Munirathna Anandakrishnan
(Civil M.S. ’57, Ph.D. ’60)
India Vice chairman, Tamil Nadu State Council for Higher Education Academy
Chairman, All-India Board of Undergraduate Studies, New Delhi
Advisor to the chief minister of Tamil Nadu on information technology and e-governance Chairman-designate, Madras Institute of Development Studies.