February 2017

Professor John Sartori (electrical and computer engineering) received the CAREER award from the National Science Foundation in recognition of his early career potential and his intentions to do research in power management.

Professor Rhonda Franklin (electrical and computer engineering) has been awarded the John Tate Award for Excellence in Undergraduate Advising, which recognizes her contributions to undergraduate education at the University of Minnesota through commitment to academic and/or career advising.

Assistant Professors Sairaj Dhople (electrical and computer engineering), Cari Dutcher (mechanical engineering), Renee Frontiera (chemistry), Lana Yarosh (computer science and engineering), and Vivian Ferry (chemical engineering and materials science) have been selected to receive a University of Minnesota McKnight Land-Grant Professorship. This award is designed to advance the careers of new assistant professors at a crucial point in their professional lives. The two-year appointment, 2017-2019, includes a research grant of $50,000.

January 2017

Professor Arthur Erdman (mechanical engineering) received the 2017 ASME Savio L-Y Woo Translational Biomechanics Medal, for “translating meritorious bioengineering science to clinical practice through research, education, professional development, and with service to the bioengineering community.” He will present at the 3rd Summer  Biomechanics, Bioengineering and Biotransport Conference, June 21-24, Tucson Arizona.

Three chemistry faculty members have been honored with major 2017 American Chemical Society awards. They include include Professor Thomas Hoye, Regents Professor Lawrence Que Jr., and Professor and Department Chair William Tolman. Que and Tolman received two of the American Chemical Society’s top inorganic chemistry awards, and Hoye was honored with a prestigious award for his work in organic chemistry.

Undergraduate researcher Anthony Tabet (biomedical engineering) was awarded a Churchill Scholarship from the Winston Churchill Foundation for the United States to study at the University of Cambridge and work toward an M.Phil in Chemistry.

Assistant professor Benjamin Hackel (chemical engineering) was chosen to receive the Guillermo E. Borja Career Development Award in recognition of his outstanding academic and research accomplishments.

Assistant professor Cari Dutcher (mechanical engineering) received the 2017-19 McKnight Land-Grant Professorship for her work in understanding atmospheric aerosol particles.

Professor Arthur Erdman (mechanical engineering) was selected to receive the 2017 ASME Savio L-Y Woo Translational Biomechanics Medal for his work in bioengineering and its relation to clinical practice.

Associate professor Michael McAlpine (mechanical engineering) received the Presidential Early Career Award for Scientists and Engineers (PECASE) for his commitment to innovative research, scientific leadership, and public outreach.