Horace T. Morse-University of Minnesota Alumni Association Award for Outstanding Contributions to Undergraduate Education

Each year the University recognizes a select group of faculty members nominated by their colleges for their outstanding contributions to undergraduate education. Recipients are honored for their performance as teachers and advisors; the relationship of their research and artistic activities to undergraduate education; academic program development; and educational leadership.

Recipient Department Awarded
Douglas Ernie Electrical and computer engineering 2016
Russell Holmes Chemical engineering and materials science 2016
Frank M. Kelso Mechanical engineering 2015
R. Lee Penn Chemistry 2015
Lorraine Francis Chemical engineering and materials science 2014
Paul Imbertson Electrical and computer engineering 2014
Jane Wissinger Chemistry 2014
Christopher Dovolis Computer science and engineering 2013
Serge Rudaz Physics 2012
Ulrike Tschimer Bioproducts and biosystems engineering 2012
Christopher Cramer Chemistry 2011
Susan Mantell Mechanical engineering 2011
David Blank Chemistry 2010
Kent Kirkby Geology and geophysics 2010
Doreen G. Leopold Chemistry 2009
James H. Stout Geology and geophysics 2009
Kristopher McNeill** Chemistry 2008
Terry Jones Astronomy 2008
James R. Leger Electrical and computer engineering 2007
Ned Mohan Electrical and computer engineering 2007
Thomas Hoye Chemistry 2007
Mark Distefano Chemistry 2006
Kenneth Leopold Chemistry 2005
Thomas Chase Mechanical engineering 2003
Kent Mann Chemistry 2003
William Durfee Mechanical engineering 2001
Robert Pepin Physics 2000
Paul Strykowski Mechanical engineering 2000
Karl Smith Civil engineering 1999
Lawrence Rudnick Astronomy 1998
E. Calvin Alexander, Jr. * Geology and geophysics 1997
Kenneth Heller Physics 1997
Gary Gray Chemistry 1996
Patrick Starr * Mechanical engineering 1996
Roger Jones * Physics 1995
Marvin Marshak Physics 1994
Christopher Paola Geology and geophysics 1994

* retired

** no longer at the University

Award for Outstanding Contributions to Postbaccalaureate, Graduate, and Professional Education

Established in 1999, this University-wide award recognizes outstanding contributions to postbaccalaureate, graduate, and/or professional education. Recipients are honored for their performance as teachers, advisors, and mentors; their development of instructional programs; and/or their inclusion of students in research, scholarship, and professional development.

Recipient Department Awarded
Maria Gini Computer Science and Engineering 2016
Randall Victora Electrical and computer engineering 2016
Philippe Buhlmann Chemistry 2015
David L. Kohlstedt Earth sciences 2015
Shashi Shekhar Computer science and engineering 2015
Ned Mohan Electrical and computer engineering 2014
Marc Hillmyer Chemistry 2014
Keshab Parhi Electrical and computer engineering 2013
Allen Goldman Physics and astronomy 2012
Timothy Lodge Chemical engineering and materials science 2012
Joseph Konstan Computer science and engineering 2010
Massoud Amin Electrical and computer engineering 2008
Christopher Cramer Chemistry 2005
Mats Heimdahl Computer science and engineering 2004
Christian Teyssier Geology/geophysics 2003
Peter Carr Chemistry 2002
Heinz Stefan Civil engineering 2001
Lawrence Que, Jr. Chemistry 2000
Thomas Hoye Chemistry 1999
Ephraim Sparrow Mechanical engineering 1999

John Tate Award for Excellence in Undergraduate Advising

The John Tate Awards serve to recognize and reward high-quality academic advising. The award is named in honor of John Tate, professor of physics and first dean of University College (1930-41). By highlighting examples of outstanding advising, the Tate Award identifies professional models and celebrate the role that academic advising plays in the University’s educational mission.

Recipient Department Awarded
Rhonda Franklin Electrical and computer engineering 2017
Chris Leighton Chemical engineering and materials science 2015
Kyle Dukart Electrical and computer engineering 2014
James Leger Electrical and computer engineering 2010
Randal Barnes Civil engineering 2008
Alon McCormick Chemical engineering and materials science 2006
Ann Pineles Office of Lower Division Programs 2004
Jane Davidson Mechanical engineering 2000
Marvin Marshak Physics 1996
Christopher Paola Geology and geophysics 1994

President’s Award for Outstanding Service

The Outstanding Service Award recognizes faculty, staff, or University-affiliated community members who have devoted their time and talents to making substantial contributions to the external community and to improving public life and the well-being of society. These efforts result in long-term and lasting changes for the public good and demonstrate an unusual commitment to University and the greater community.

Recipient Department Awarded
Kim R. Dockter Office of the Dean 2015
Willard Miller Jr. School of Mathematics 2015
Joseph Franek Chemistry 2014
Peter Hudleston Earth sciences 2014
Jerry Meier Physics 2014
Sharon Emde Materials Research Sciences Science and Engineering Center 2013
Stanley Bonnema Department of Chemistry 2012
Susan Kubitschek Office of CSE Student Services 2012
William Miller NuMI Off-Axis Electron Neutrino Appearance (NOvA) Laboratory 2012
William Durfee Mechanical engineering 2011
Caroline Hayes Mechanical engineering 2010
Karen Wolterstorff * Office of the Dean 2010
Arthur Erdman Mechanical engineering 2009
Marvin Stein Computer science and engineering 2009
Benjamin Sharpe Office of Academic Advising (IT) 2009
Lawrence Rudnick Astronomy 2005
Sally Gregory Kohlstedt Geology and geophysics 2004
V. Rama Murthy † Geology and geophysics 2001

† deceased

* no longer at the University of Minnesota

Distinguished Women Scholars Award

Issued jointly by the University of Minnesota Graduate School and the Office for University Women, this award was established in 2001 to acknowledge and honor the accomplishments of distinguished women scholars at the University. It is issued to two individuals each year, one being from the field of Science and Engineering. Recipients for the award are selected based on:

  • Impact on the field
  • National and international scholarly reputation
  • Distinction in undergraduate and graduate education
  • Contributions to the university, profession and the wider community
Recipient Department Awarded
Ellen Longmire Aerospace Engineering and Mechanics 2007
Jane Davidson Mechanical Engineering 2005
Karin Musier-Forsyth * Chemistry 2004
Maria Gini Computer Science and Engineering 2001

* no longer at the University of Minnesota

Mullen/Spector/Truax Women’s Leadership Awards

Established in 1997, the Mullen-Spector-Truax Women’s Leadership Award is given annually to a faculty or staff woman at the University who has made outstanding contributions to women’s leadership development. This award honors women, not only for their own leadership qualities, but also for their efforts to develop leadership within others.

Recipient Department Awarded
Cynthia Cattell Physics 2015
Maria Gini Computer Science and Engineering 2011
Caroline Hayes * Mechanical Engineering 2010
Roberta Humphreys Physics 2008
Sally Gregory Kohlstedt Earth Sciences 2002

* no longer at the University of Minnesota

Sara Evans Faculty Woman/Scholar Award

This award recognizes women faculty at the University of Minnesota-Twin Cities who have achieved significant national and international accomplishments and honors and who contribute as leaders on campus. In addition to supporting outstanding women scholars, this award also reflects the University’s strong commitment to future leaders. This award is sponsored by the Office of the Vice Provost for Faculty & Academic Affairs, and the Women’s Center.

Recipient Department Awarded
Theresa Reineke Chemistry 2016
Christy Haynes Chemistry 2015
Rhonda Franklin Electrical and computer engineering 2014
Paige Novak Civil, environmental, and geo- engineering 2013