Honors and Awards

March 2024

Assistant Professor Qi Zhang (chemical engineering and materials science) was awarded the IChemE Junior Sargent Medal which recognizes major contributions by an early career individual to research in the area of computer-aided product and process engineering. 

Professor William C. K. Pomerantz (chemistry) received the Horace T. Morse Award, the University of Minnesota Alumni Association Award for Outstanding Contributions to Undergraduate Education. 

Professor Jonathan Sachs (biomedical engineering) was elected to the 2024 Class of the American Institute for Medical and Biological Engineering (AIMBE) College of Fellows.

Professor Andre Mkhoyan (chemical engineering and materials science) was inducted into the Class of 2024 Fellows for Microscopy Society of America (MSA).

Professor Matt Neurock (chemical engineering and materials science) was awarded the USA Navy Impact Influencer Award. The award is presented to educators, mentors, and coaches across the nation who personify the Navy’s core values of Honor, Courage, and Commitment.

Associate Professor Yao-Yi Chiang (computer science) was appointed the chair for the first ever Diversity, Equity and Inclusion (DEI) Committee for the Association of Computing Machinery’s (ACM) Special Interest Group on Spatial Information (SIGSPATIAL). 

The University of Minnesota-Twin Cities Material Advantage Chapter earned 2nd place by crafting a stunning modern rendition of a one-handed Irish Ring Pommel Sword for the 2024 Minerals, Metals & Materials Society (TMS) Bladesmithing competition. 

February 2024

Assistant Professor Nick Arnosti (industrial and systems engineering) was awarded the 2024 NSF CAREER grant.

Professors Catherine French (civil, environmental, and geo- engineering) and Timothy Lodge (chemical engineering and materials science) were elected to the National Academy of Engineering (NAE).

Assistant Professors Michelle Calabrese (chemical engineering and materials science), Ryan Caverly (aerospace engineering & mechanics), Michelle Chu (mathematics), Michael Coughlin (physics and astronomy), Courtney Roberts (chemistry), and Judy Yang (civil, environmental, and geo-engineering) are among twelve recipients of the University of Minnesota's 2024-2026 McKnight Land-Grant Professorship.

Assistant Professor Qi Zhang (chemical engineering and materials science) has been awarded the Junior Sargent Medal by the Institution of Chemical Engineers (IChemE).

Professors James Van de Ven (mechanical engineering) and Chad L. Myers (computer science and engineering) received the 2024 University of Minnesota Graduate and Professional Teaching Award.

Assistant Professor Zhen Liu (physics and astronomy) was selected as a 2024 Alfred P. Sloan Research Fellow in Physics.

Associate Professor Catherine Qi Zhao (computer science & engineering) & Teaching Professor Lisa Miller (industrial and systems engineering) were appointed as Dean’s Fellows in the College of Science and Engineering.

Professor Hubert Lim (biomedical engineering) has been selected as the next director of the University's Earl E. Bakken Medical Device Center.

Alumnus Martha C. Anderson (Ph.D., astrophysics), Kei May Lau (B.A. & M.S. astrophysics), and Jeff Puschell (Ph.D., astrophysics) have been elected to the National Academy of Engineering (NAE) for 2024. 

January 2024

Alumnus Dr. Keith Wilson (M.S. electrical engineering) named the 2024 recipient of the Acoustical Society of America’s (ASA) Helmholtz-Rayleigh Interdisciplinary Silver Medal in Computational Acoustics, Physical Acoustics and Engineering Acoustics.

Professor Roberta Humphreys (physics and astronomy) received the 2024 Herschel Medal of the Royal Astronomical Society for her work in observational astrophysics.

Professor Jian-Ping Wang (electrical and computer engineering) was honored with the 2024 Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) Magnetics Society Achievement Award for his pioneering work in magnetics. 

Professor Suo Yang (mechanical engineering) received the 2024 Young Investigator Program award from the Air Force Office of Scientific Research.

Professor Aaron Massari and Assistant Professor Courtney Roberts (chemistry) were named 3M Alumni Professors. 

Professor Satish Kumar (chemical engineering and materials science) was named to the U.S. National Committee for Theoretical and Applied Mechanics. 

Student Brian Balquist (civil, environmental, and geo- engineering) won the University of Minnesota’s Biz Pitch Contest for his proposal in a company that would apply existing wastewater surveillance technology to new areas. 

Professors Brenda Ogle (biomedical engineering) and Sang-Hyun Oh (electrical and computer engineering) received research grants from the Minnesota Partnership for Biotechnology and Medical Genomics. 

Professor Sayan Biswas (mechanical engineering) won the Council of University Transportation Centers Cambridge Systematics New Faculty Award for his contributions to teaching and research in the transportation field for tenure-track faculty.