Distinguished Leadership Award for Internationals

Recognizing international alumni, former students, and friends of the University who have attained unusual distinction in their careers. They also will have either demonstrated sustained outstanding achievement and leadership or demonstrated promise on a local, national, or international level.


Jin Taek Chung
(Mechanical Engineering Ph.D. ’92)
President, Korea University
Recognized for his people-centered approach to learning and leadership, and his scholarly works including articles, reviews, and books about energy systems and turbomachinery.


Haakon Fossen
(Geology Ph.D. ’92)
Professor, University of Bergen
Recognized for his scientific contributions to structural geology research and the innovative ways—including richly illustrated textbooks and engaging video tutorials—in which he helps educators worldwide teach structural geology.


Azwinndini Muronga
(Physics Ph.D. ’02)
Associate Professor, University of Johannesburg
Recognized for his involvement in developing opportunities for young African scientists and efforts in promoting the study of science to the South African public.


Prem Jain
(ME Ph.D. ’67)
Chairman and Founder, Spectral Services Consultants Pvt.Ltd.
Founder and President Emeritus of Indian Society of Heating, Refrigerating and Air Conditioning
Fellow of the American Society of Heating, Refrigerating, and Air-Conditioning Engineers


Ajay Pandey
(CSci M.S. ’00, Ph.D. ’03)
Managing Director, Maharashtra State Electricity Distribution Company Ltd.


Munirathna Anandakrishnan
(Civil M.S. ’57, Ph.D. ’60)
India Vice chairman, Tamil Nadu State Council for Higher Education Academy
Chairman, All-India Board of Undergraduate Studies, New Delhi
Advisor to the chief minister of Tamil Nadu on information technology and e-governance
Chairman-designate, Madras Institute of Development Studies.