Ph.D. student Matt Hausladen with a soft robot in the lab
Infrastructure/Transportation, Medical-Health Technology, Research

Engineers discover process for synthetic material growth, enabling soft robots to grow like plants

Posted September 26, 2022

An interdisciplinary team of University of Minnesota Twin Cities researchers has developed a new, plant-inspired extrusion process that enables synthetic material growth, and the creation of a soft robot that builds its own solid body from liquid to navigate hard-to-reach places and complicated terrain.

MRI imaging of a knee slice
Medical-Health Technology, Research

Researchers combine data science and machine learning techniques to improve traditional MRI image reconstruction

Posted September 13, 2022

University of Minnesota Twin Cities researchers have found a way to improve the performance of traditional Magnetic Resonance Imaging (MRI) reconstruction techniques, allowing for faster MRIs without relying on the use of newer deep learning methods.

3D-printed light sensor on arm
Medical-Health Technology

Unique light-sensing 3D-printed device could help people with lupus

Posted September 8, 2022

A team of engineers and doctors at the University of Minnesota Twin Cities have designed a unique 3D-printed light-sensing medical device that could help millions of people worldwide with lupus and other light-sensitive diseases.

Wind farm
Awards-Grants, Energy-Environment

University of Minnesota awarded nearly $22M to lead two Energy Frontier Research Centers

Posted September 6, 2022

Two new University of Minnesota Twin Cities-led Energy Frontier Research Centers will bring together engineers and scientists from across the country to develop promising technologies for storing carbon dioxide and making catalytic chemical reactions more efficient and sustainable.

Stock photo of an antigen showing multivalent binding
Medical-Health Technology, Research

Technology that simulates complex molecular interactions could lead to better treatments for diseases like cancer and COVID-19

Posted September 2, 2022

A team led by University of Minnesota Twin Cities biomedical engineers has developed a universally accessible application that can simulate complex molecular interactions, which will allow researchers to design better treatments for diseases like cancer and COVID-19.

Celina Harris smiling at the camera.
Awards-Grants, Research, Students

Q&A with Knauss Fellowship finalist Celina Harris

Posted August 24, 2022

Chemistry grad student Celina Harris will spend 2023 at a federal office in Washington, D.C. focused on national policy for ocean, coastal, and Great Lakes resources.

Robot design

Q&A with the UMN Lunabotics team

Posted August 15, 2022

Students from the CSE Outstanding Student Group Award-winning Lunabotics team discuss their process for building robots to compete in a lunar environment and how they’re gearing up for next season.

A human body with electrical and sound signals around it
Medical-Health Technology, Research

Study finds that sound plus electrical body stimulation has potential to treat chronic pain

Posted August 11, 2022

A University of Minnesota Twin Cities-led team has found that electrical stimulation of the body combined with sound activates the brain’s somatosensory cortex, increasing the potential for using the technique to treat chronic pain and other sensory disorders.

Histology image of vaccine in nasal cavity
Medical-Health Technology, Research

New method of nasal vaccine delivery could lead to better vaccines for HIV and COVID-19

Posted August 10, 2022

A University of Minnesota assistant professor is part of a team that has developed a new way to effectively deliver vaccines through the nose that could lead to better protection against diseases like HIV and COVID-19.

Circularity of resources diagram
Awards-Grants, Energy-Environment

UMN receives $3 million for interdisciplinary NSF Research Traineeship program

Posted August 2, 2022

The University of Minnesota Twin Cities received a $3 million grant from the National Science Foundation to implement an interdisciplinary, cross-college research traineeship program that aims to better educate students on topics including sustainability, resource conservation, waste upcycling, and community impact.