Giannakis portrait


Professor Georgios Giannakis to be inducted into the National Academy of Inventors

Posted January 22, 2020

University of Minnesota Electrical and Computer Engineering Professor Georgios B. Giannakis has been named a National Academy of Inventors (NAI) Fellow and will be inducted into the NAI at the academy’s annual meeting this spring.

Brekke in front of rockets


CSE alumna chosen as 2019 Homecoming Parade Grand Marshal

Posted August 23, 2019

CSE aerospace engineering alumna Michele A. Brekke will serve as Grand Marshal for the University of Minnesota Twin Cities campus 2019 Homecoming parade on Oct. 4.

Researcher holding a piece of foam


University of Minnesota receives $20M grant for sustainable plastics research

Posted August 13, 2019

The University of Minnesota announced that it has been awarded a $20 million grant renewal from the National Science Foundation (NSF) for research in the NSF Center for Sustainable Polymers focused on discoveries of the next generation of environment-friendly plastics.

Ian Tonks headshot photo


Associate professor receives U.S. Department of Energy Early Career Award

Posted August 1, 2019

Associate Professor Ian A. Tonks has received a U.S. Department of Energy (DOE) Early Career Research Program award, a highly-competitive national award that provides support to exceptional researchers.

Side-by-side photos of PECASE Award Winners


Two CSE engineering faculty receive highest honor from U.S. government

Posted July 24, 2019

Two University of Minnesota College of Science and Engineering faculty are among the recipients of the Presidential Early Career Awards for Scientists and Engineers (PECASE), the highest honor bestowed by the U.S. government to outstanding scientists and engineers in the early stages of their independent research careers

Headshot photos of Ned Mohan and David Pui


Two CSE professors named University Regents Professors

Posted June 20, 2019

Professor Ned Mohan (electrical and computer engineering) and Professor David Pui (mechanical engineering) have been named Regents Professors, the highest honor given to faculty by the University.

Richard James headshot


Professor Richard James receives prestigious Vannevar Bush Faculty Fellowship

Posted May 17, 2019

Richard D. James, a University of Minnesota Distinguished McKnight University Professor in the Department of Aerospace Engineering and Mechanics will receive $3 million over 5 years to advance transformative, university-based fundamental research through the Vannevar Bush Faculty Fellowship.

Maria Gini


2019 faculty awards announced

Posted May 10, 2019

Each year, the University of Minnesota honors its own for their myriad contributions.

2019 Innovator Awards Ceremony


Two CSE entrepreneurial faculty receive Innovation Awards

Posted April 10, 2019

Two College of Science and Engineering faculty were recognized as 2019 Innovation Award winners by the University of Minnesota for their groundbreaking research and entrepreneurial spirit at the 2019 Inventor Recognition Event.

AIMS graduates photo


University announces new partnership with African Institute for Mathematical Sciences

Posted February 5, 2019

The University of Minnesota and the African Institute for Mathematical Sciences (AIMS) announced a new partnership for exchanging knowledge and accelerating educational opportunities for talented African mathematicians.