Chemical bonds image


Energy researchers break the catalytic speed limit

Posted May 27, 2019

A team of researchers from the University of Minnesota and University of Massachusetts Amherst has discovered new technology that can speed up chemical reactions 10,000 times faster than the current reaction rate limit.

Richard James headshot


Professor Richard James receives prestigious Vannevar Bush Faculty Fellowship

Posted May 17, 2019

Richard D. James, a University of Minnesota Distinguished McKnight University Professor in the Department of Aerospace Engineering and Mechanics will receive $3 million over 5 years to advance transformative, university-based fundamental research through the Vannevar Bush Faculty Fellowship.

Maria Gini


2019 faculty awards announced

Posted May 10, 2019

Each year, the University of Minnesota honors its own for their myriad contributions.

Dan Knights


CSE faculty among most cited researchers

Posted April 28, 2019

The work of five University of Minnesota College of Science and Engineering faculty are frequently referenced by their peers, suggesting substantial contributions to advancing knowledge in their fields.

Person holding plasticized heart

Medical-Health Technology

University of Minnesota hosts world's largest medical devices conference April 16-18

Posted April 15, 2019

More than 1,300 medical device leaders from across the country in both industry and academia will converge at the University of Minnesota’s 18th annual Design of Medical Devices Conference (DMD) April 16-18.

2019 Innovator Awards Ceremony


Two CSE entrepreneurial faculty receive Innovation Awards

Posted April 10, 2019

Two College of Science and Engineering faculty were recognized as 2019 Innovation Award winners by the University of Minnesota for their groundbreaking research and entrepreneurial spirit at the 2019 Inventor Recognition Event.

3D-printed transparent skull device

Medical-Health Technology

3D-printed transparent skull provides a window to the brain

Posted April 2, 2019

Researchers have developed a unique 3D-printed transparent skull implant for mice that provides an opportunity to watch activity of the entire brain surface in real time. The device allows fundamental brain research for human brain conditions such as concussions, Alzheimer’s and Parkinson’s disease.

Hemoglobin fibers forming

Medical-Health Technology

Most precise measurements of sickle cell disease building blocks could lead to new treatments

Posted March 28, 2019

In a breakthrough study of sickle cell disease, University of Minnesota researchers have revealed that the building blocks of the disease are much less efficient at organizing than previously thought. The findings open the door to new treatments.

Illustration of inner ear with implant

Medical-Health Technology

University of Minnesota to lead $9.7 million NIH grant to improve hearing restoration

Posted March 19, 2019

The University of Minnesota announced that it will lead a $9.7 million grant from the National Institutes for Health (NIH) BRAIN Initiative to develop a new implantable device and surgical procedure with the goal of restoring more natural hearing to people who are deaf or severely hard-of-hearing.

Graph showing less inflammation for mice receiving ultrasound treatments

Medical-Health Technology

Ultrasound stimulation of spleen could lead to new treatments for inflammatory arthritis

Posted March 13, 2019

Researchers involved in a study using mice showed that they could actually ‘turn down’ the inflammatory response in arthritis with daily noninvasive ultrasound stimulation of the spleen.