Recent News

Larger overview on Anderson localization — Antione Julia

May 25, 2021 — WAVE Postdoctoral Student Antoine Julia will present May 25 at 9 a.m. PST / 11 a.m. CST / 5 p.m. BST / 6 p.m. CEST and give a larger overview on Anderson localization. Enter the Zoom.

Bruno Poggi recipient of the 2021 School of Mathematics Outstanding Thesis Award

May 20, 2021 — WAVE's Bruno Poggi recently received the 2021 University of Minnesota School of Mathematics Outstanding Thesis Award. This fellowship award comes with $1000 in recognition of Poggi's achievements. On behalf of the Simons Collaborations on Localization of Waves, we congratulate Bruno on having the most outstanding thesis!

WAVE Graduate Students Successfully Defend Ph.D. Thesis

April 8, 2021 — WAVE Graduate Students Perceval Desforges and Tyson Loudon successfully defended their respective Ph.D. theses. Desforges defended his thesis on the "Analysis of the spatial and spectral structures of localized eigenfunctions in Anderson models through the localization landscape theory." Desforges will also be joining Advestis, a company developing maching learning-based software. Several days later on April 16th, Loudon was able to do the same for his thesis entitled "Lanczos approximation of joint spectral quantities and applications." Please welcome WAVE in congratulating both individuals on their achievements. You can view both profiles on our Collaboration and Affiliated Scientists page.