Uwe Kortshagen

Image Unavailable

Uwe Kortshagen

Distinguished McKnight University Professor,
Mechanical Engineering


Mechanical Engineering
Rm 2101F
111 Church Street SE





Habilitation 1995, Experimental Physics,
Ruhr-University Bochum, Germany

Dr. rer. nat. 1991, Physics, Ruhr-University
Bochum, Germany

Diplomphysiker 1988, Ruhr-University
Bochum, Germany

Research Interests
  • Low temperature plasmas
  • Plasma synthesis of materials
  • Materials for renewable energy
  • Quantum dots, nanocrystals, and 2D materials
  • Quantum dots for brain imaging
  • Sustainable nanomaterials

Research Groups

Name: Kortshagen Group
Location: L122-L126


Name: High Temperature & Plasma Laboratory
Location: L120


Honors and Awards
  • 2018 Fellow, American Physical Society
  • 2015 Plasma Prize, AVS (formerly: American Vacuum Society)
  • 2015 James J. Ryan Professor of Mechanical Engineering
  • 2013 Fellow, Internationals Plasma Chemistry Society
  • 2009 Fellow, American Society of Mechanical Engineers
  • 2008-09 President, International Plasma Chemistry Society
  • 2007 Distinguished McKnight University Professor
  • 2005 Univ. of Minnesota, Institute of Technology-George Taylor Award for Distinguished Research
  • 2004 Fellow, Institute of Physics (U.K.)
  • 1999 NSF Career Award
  • 1997 Mayhugh Assistant Professor
  • 1994 Lynen Award of the Alexander von Humboldt Foundation
Selected Publications

“Efficient Luminescent Solar Concentrators based on Ultra-Earth-Abundant Indirect Band Gap Silicon Quantum Dots,” F. Meinardi, S. Ehrenberg, L. Dhamo, F. Carulli, M. Mauri, F. Bruni, R. Simonutti, U. Kortshagen, S. Brovelli, Nature Photonics 11, 177–185 (2017).

“Metal-insulator transition in films of doped semiconductor nanocrystals,” Chen, T.; Reich, K. V.; Kramer, N. J.; Fu, H.; Kortshagen, U. R.; Shklovskii, B. I., Nature Materials 15 (3), 299-304, (2016).

“High electron mobility in thin films formed via supersonic impact deposition of nanocrystals synthesized in nonthermal plasmas.” Thimsen, E., M. Johnson, X. Zhang, A.J. Wagner, K.A. Mkhoyan, U.R. Kortshagen, and E.S. Aydil, Nature Communications 5, 5822 (2014).

“Hypervalent surface interactions for colloidal stability and doping of silicon nanocrystals”, L. M. Wheeler, N. R. Neale, T. Chen and U. R. Kortshagen, Nature Communications 4, 2197, (2013).

“High-Yield Plasma Synthesis of Luminescent Silicon Nanocrystals”, L. Mangolini, E. Thimsen and U. Kortshagen, Nano Lett. 5 , 655-659, (2005).