Yost Appointed to National Academy of Engineering Expert Committee on Engineering and Society

The National Academies’ National Academy of Engineering convened a diverse committee of experts to plan and conduct a symposium (or multi-part symposia) to examine engineering research and economic and societal impacts. The Symposium/Symposia will be held in 2022. National Science Foundation (NSF) is the sponsor. It will concentrate on developments catalyzed by NSF support. The committee will also work to produce a National Academies Press book. The title of the project, symposia, and book is Extraordinary Engineering Impacts on Society: Over Seven Decades of Contributions from the National Science Foundation. CBI Director, Jeffrey Yost, was selected for and appointed to this prestigious committee (the only historian on it) and will be serving for the course of the project’s two years. The book will be:

 …designed for a wide readership, will expand on the proceedings-in-brief and offer conclusions and recommendations on how to best promote understanding of engineering’s place in society and how NSF contributes to it.

Like the committee makeup, an aim with the event and the book is diversity, and these products will seek to expand understanding and to inspire and broaden STEM education and workforce participation. The committee membership is below the one or two sentence descriptors. They draw from the longer paragraph-long biographies on the project website. For more information, please see the project’s website: Extraordinary Engineering Impacts on Society.

Dan E. Arvizu (Chair), PhD is the Chancellor of the New Mexico State University System and a Professor in their Department of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering and is an NAE Member.

Lynn A. Conway, MSEE is Professor of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science, Emerita at the University of Michigan, and is a NAE Member.

Edward H. Frank, PhD is co-founder and CEO of Brilliant Lime, Inc. and Cloud Parity, both social/mobile software firms, and prior, he served as a vice president at Apple, Inc. and corporate vice president R & D at Broadcom, and is a NAE Member.

Selda Gunsel, PhD is President of Shell Global Solutions (US) and VP of Global Lubricants and Fuels Technology for Shell and is a NAE Member.

William S. Hammack, PhD is the William H. and Janet G. Lycan Professor of Chemical & Bimolecular Engineering at the University of Illinois – Urbana-Champaign. He is the creator and host of the popular YouTube channel “engineerguy.”

Eboney Hearn, EdM is the Executive Director of the Office of Engineering Outreach Programs (OEOP) at MIT. She runs the strategic implementation of outreach offered through the MIT School of Engineering, focusing on bringing underrepresented and underserved students to the engineering and science fields.

Laura A. Lindenfeld, PhD is Dean of the School of Communication and Journalism and Vice Provost for Academic Strategy and Planning; and Executive Director of the Alan Alda Center for Communicating Science at Stony Brook University.

Theresa A. Maldonado, PhD, PE is the systemwide Vice President for Research & Innovation at the University of California Office of the President. Previously, she served as Dean of Engineering at The University of Texas at El Paso.

Louis A. Martin-Vega, PhD is Professor and Dean of Engineering at North Carolina State University. He joined the university in 2006, after serving as Dean of Engineering at the University of South Florida. He is a NAE Member.

Yu Tao, PhD is an Associate Professor of Sociology at the Stevens Institute of Technology. In her research, she analyzes issues related to human resources in science, technology, engineering, and mathematics (STEM) as well as online privacy literacy.

Jimmy Williams Jr., PhD is Distinguished Service Professor of Engineering and Public Policy and Director of the Engineering & Technology Innovation Management Program at Carnegie Mellon University.

Jeffrey R. Yost, PhD is Director of the Charles Babbage Institute for Computing, Information, and Culture and Research Professor in the History of Science, Technology and Medicine at the University of Minnesota. He is a social/cultural historian and co-edits JHUP’s series Studies in Computing and Culture.

David A. Butler, PhD, (NAE Staff Officer) is the J. Herbert Hollomon Scholar of the National Academy of Engineering (NAE). He also is Director of NAE’s Cultural, Ethical, Social, and Environmental Responsibility in Engineering program. Prior, Dr. Butler served, as an analyst for the U.S. Congress OTA, and was a research associate in the Department of Environmental Health of the Harvard T.H. Chan School of Public Health.



Back to Bits & Bytes