Larkin Award

Anatoly Larkin 1932 - 2005

Anatoly Larkin (1932-2005) is a former faculty member of the Institute. This award is a tribute to his contributions to the field of theoretical physics and its community.

You can read more about Professor Larkin and his legacy through these tributes written by close friends and colleagues. 


We are now accepting nominations for the 2024 senior and junior researcher awards. Please see the application instructions below.

Smiling man with gray and black hair wearing a plaid shirt.

About the Award

This honor recognizes extraordinary contributions to theoretical physics. There are two awards granted annually: one to a senior researcher and one to a junior researcher (under 40 years old at the time of nomination).

The Awardee will be invited to deliver a colloquium for the School of Physics and Astronomy at the University of Minnesota. The awardee will be reimbursed for travel to the University and receive an honorarium in the amount of $2,500 (the Award itself does not come with a monetary value).

Nomination Process

Nomination packages must consist of:

  • Letter from nominator
  • CV of nominee
  • Three letters of reference

Nominations may be submitted online through the Larkin Award Nomination Form or by email to


Please Note

Self-nominations will not be considered
Nominations stay active for two years 
Nominations of women and underrepresented minorities are strongly encouraged


FTPI website:
Larkin Award webpage:
Nomination form:

Selection Committee

The selection committee elects recipients that specialize in high-energy and math-physics for odd year awards. Condensed-matter and many-body theory colleagues are selected for even year awards.

Andrey Chubukov
William I. and Bianca M. Fine Chair in Theoretical Physics
Fine Theoretical Physics Institute
University of Minnesota

Keith Olive
Gloria Becker Lubkin Chair in Theoretical Physics
Fine Theoretical Physics Institute
University of Minnesota

Contact Us

Please email us at with any questions regarding the nomination process.

Previous Larkin Award Winners


Michael Dine, University of California, Santa Cruz

Simon Caron-Huot, McGill University


Patrick A. Lee, Massachusetts Institute of Technology and California Institute of Technology

Liang Fu, Massachusetts Institute of Technology