Anatoly Larkin Headshot in front of shrubs

Larkin Award - Call for 2023 Nominations

May 14, 2023
The William I. Fine Theoretical Physics Institute (FTPI) at the University of Minnesota is pleased to announce a call for nominations for the Larkin Award in Theoretical Physics 2023.
Portrait of Professor Boris Shklovskii

FTPI Professor Boris Shklovskii elected to the National Academy of Sciences

May 4, 2023
Professor Boris I. Shklovskii has been elected as a member of the prestigious National Academy of Sciences (NAS) for his excellence in original scientific research. Membership in the NAS is one of
Anatoly Larkin

2022 Larkin Awards announced

November 1, 2022
The inaugural Fine Theoretical Physics Institute Larkin Awards have been announced.
The Simons Foundation sign

Simon's Foundation Grant Awarded

October 27, 2022
The William I Fine Theoretical Physics Institute (FTPI) has received a Simons Grant of over half a million dollars to help bolster the Institute's mission of being one of the regional centers
Maxim Pospelov

Prof. Pospelov named APS Fellow

October 24, 2022
FTPI Professor Maxim Pospelov has been named a 2022 Fellow of the American Physical Society.
Abdus Salam International Centre for Theoretical Physics

ICTP/Strongly Correlated Matter: from Quantum Criticality to Flat Bands

August 28, 2022
FTPI is co-hosting a workshop with ICTP in Trieste, Italy from August 22 - September 2, 2022. The workshop will be looking into strongly correlated matter physics.
Carols Frenk Millennium galaxy image

2022 Misel Family Lecture

July 1, 2022
The William I. Fine Theoretical Physics Institute is proud to host the 15th Annual Misel Family Lecture. This lecture is FREE AND OPEN TO THE PUBLIC. Questions? Please contact us at ftpi@umn.edu or
decorative image of fractal explosion

Continuous Advances in QCD 2022

March 18, 2022
Register for the workshop "Continuous Advances in QCD" now. The workshop will be hosted by FTPI May 12-14. 2022.
XMM Newton Space Telescope rendering

Excess X-rays from Neutron Stars Could Lead to Discovery of New Particle

January 15, 2021
After observing an excess of x-rays from neutron stars, a team of researchers found that the anomaly may have been caused by axions, hypothetical particles that could help scientists solve several
Prof. Misha Voloshin headshot

In Memoriam: Mikhail "Misha" Voloshin, 1953-2020

March 18, 2020
Professor Misha Voloshin was one of the world's leading theoretical physicists. He passed from heart failure on March 20, 2020.
Boris Shklovskii

Boris Shklovskii Awarded 2019 APS Buckley Prize

June 2, 2019
FTPI Professor Boris Shklovskii was jointly awarded the 2019 Oliver E. Buckley Condensed Matter Prize with Elihu Abrahams and Alexei Efros by the American Physical Society
Shifman headshot photo

Misha Shifman elected to the National Academy of Sciences

May 1, 2019
FTPI Professor Misha Shifman was elected to the National Academy of Sciences in May 2019. Membership in the Academy is one of the highest honors given to an engineer or scientist.