The Latest From Mechanical Engineering

Update ME

The Department of Mechanical Engineering is an active research hub at the forefront of developments in human health, the environment, robotics, manufacturing, energy, and more. Our faculty, researchers, and students work on everything from designing clean engines to curing cancer. Read about what ME is doing to change the world right here in Minnesota.


AIAA logo over a blue sky with clouds

ME Graduate Student Wins AIAA Award


Hongyuan Zhang, a graduate student in Suo Yang's Computational Reactive Flow and Energy Lab, won the Martin Summerfield Graduate Award from the American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics (AIAA).

Image Unavailable

Vinod Srinivasan Receives NSF CAREER Award


ME Assistant Professor Vinod Srinivasan received an NSF CAREER Award for his work on heat transfer research.

Winners of the 2020-2021 Haagen-Smit Clean Air Awards

Haagen-Smit Clean Air Award Goes to David Kittelson


The California Air Resources Board awarded the 2020-2021 Haagen-Smit Clean Air Awards to six recipients, including ME Professor David Kittelson.

Xray of lungs

Suhasa Kodandaramaiah Awarded NIH Grant for Recording Neural Activity


The NIH National Institute of Neurological Disorders and Stroke awarded $1.8 million to Suhasa Kodandaramaiah and Tim Ebner (Neuroscience) to develop better cranial exoskeletons for recording neural activity in mice.

Doctoral Dissertation Fellowship Winners graphic

Two ME Students Win Doctoral Dissertation Fellowships


ME PhD students Dingbin Huang and Guanyu Song have been awarded Doctoral Dissertation Fellowships for the 2022-2023 academic year.

ME Professor Michael McAlpine

Mike McAlpine Wins Excellence in Postdoctoral Advising Award


ME Professor Mike McAlpine received a 2021-2022 Award for Excellence in Postdoctoral Advising, which recognizes the central role that postdoctoral advising plays at the University.

Graduate student awards

2021-2022 Graduate Student Awards


Our department is home to award-winning graduate students who are propelling the future of mechanical engineering. Here is a list of this academic year's award winners.

CSE DEI Awards graphic

Two ME Students Win Diversity Equity, and Inclusion Leadership Awards


ME undergraduates Ann Nguyen and Asha Suvarna won awards for their DEI-focused contributions to advocacy, volunteer work, and engagement.

Biswas headshot 2021

Inaugural Innovation Impact Case Award Given to ME Assistant Professor Sayan Biswas


The Innovation Impact Case Award is the most prestigious award given by the Office of the Vice President for Research. It recognizes research that has led to significant impact outside of academia and has made a meaningful difference in our communities.

Image Unavailable

John Bischof Assumes New Leadership Roles Across the University


ME Professor John Bischof will oversee interdisciplinary grant programs and direct the Clinical Translational Science Institute's Office of Discovery and Translation, both part of the Office of Academic Clinical Affairs.