Demoz Gebre-Egziabher Receives Dr. Samuel M. Burka Award


The Institute of Navigation presents Dr. Jordan D. Larson, Dr. Demoz Gebre-Egziabher and Dr. Jason H. Rife with the Dr. Samuel M. Burka Award

The Institute of Navigation (ION) presented its Dr. Samuel M. Burka Award to Dr. Jordan D. Larson, Dr. Demoz Gebre-Egziabher and Dr. Jason H. Rife for their paper “Gaussian-Pareto Overbounding of DGNSS Pseudoranges from CORS” published in the Spring 2019 issue of NAVIGATION, Journal of The Institute of Navigation, Vol. 66, No. 1, pp. 139-150. The Burka Award was presented at the ION International Technical Meeting (ITM) and Precise Time and Time Interval Systems and Applications (PTTI) meeting held January 21-24, 2020 in San Diego, California.

The Dr. Samuel M. Burka Award is granted to recognize outstanding achievement in the preparation of a paper advancing the art and science of positioning, navigation and timing and is given in memory of Dr. Samuel M. Burka, a dedicated public servant who devoted a long and distinguished career to the research and development of air navigation equipment and reviewing technical material for official publications. He retired from public service in 1958 and died several months later.

Dr. Jordan D. Larson is an assistant professor in the Department of Aerospace Engineering and Mechanics at the University of Alabama where he works closely with the Remote Sensing Center and runs the Laboratory for Autonomy, GNC and Estimation Research. His research interests include data processing, precision navigation and mapping, and guidance algorithm design for autonomous systems including multi-sensor/multi-agent systems. Dr. Larson received his BS, MS, and PhD in Aerospace Engineering and Mechanics from the University of Minnesota.

Dr. Demoz Gebre-Egziabher is a professor in the Department of Aerospace Engineering and Mechanics at the University of Minnesota, Twin Cities. His research deals with the design of multi-sensor navigation and attitude determination systems for aerospace vehicles. He was the past secretary of the Satellite Division of the Institute of Navigation and has also served as associate editor of navigation for the IEEE Transactions on Aerospace and Electronic Systems. He is current director of the NASA/Minnesota Space Grant Consortium. Dr. Gebre-Egziabher received his BS in Aerospace Engineering from the University of Arizona, a MS in Mechanical Engineering from the George Washington University and a PhD in Aeronautics and Astronautics from Stanford University.

Dr. Jason Rife is an associate professor of Mechanical Engineering at Tufts University in Medford, Massachusetts. He directs the Automation Safety and Robotics Laboratory, which applies theory and experiment to characterize robots and autonomous vehicle systems for safety-of-life applications. He has worked at Pratt & Whitney as a development engineer in the Turbine Aerodynamics group, and at the Stanford University GPS Laboratory as a research engineer supporting FAA and Navy projects. Dr. Rife received his BS in Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering from Cornell University and his MS and PhD degrees in Mechanical Engineering from Stanford University.

The ION Annual Awards Program is sponsored by The Institute of Navigation to recognize individuals making significant contributions or demonstrating outstanding performance relating to the art and science of navigation.

About ION

The Institute of Navigation is a not-for-profit professional organization dedicated to advancing Positioning, Navigation and Timing (PNT). The Institute is a national organization whose membership spans worldwide. Additional information about the ION can be found at