The Latest From Mechanical Engineering

Update ME

The Department of Mechanical Engineering is an active research hub at the forefront of developments in human health, the environment, robotics, manufacturing, energy, and more. Our faculty, researchers, and students work on everything from designing clean engines to curing cancer. Read about what ME is doing to change the world right here in Minnesota.


Xuanting Hao headshot

ME Student Paths: Faculty Appointments in Top Programs


Former ME PhD student and postdoc Xuanting Hao will join the University of California, San Diego as a tenure-track assistant professor in the Department of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering and Scripps Institution of Oceanography.

Participants in the 2022 Plasma Summer School gather on the steps of Coffman Union

First U.S. Plasma Summer School Held at UMN ME


Professor Peter Bruggeman, along with Professor Mark Kushner from the University of Michigan, held the first U.S. Low Temperature Plasma Summer School from June 13-17, 2022, at the University of Minnesota.

Headshot of Dr. Jayathi Murthy

First Female UMN ME PhD Becomes President of Oregon State University


Dr. Jayathi Murthy, the first woman to receive a PhD in mechanical engineering at the University of Minnesota, was recently named President of Oregon State University — where she will be the first woman of color to lead Oregon's largest public university.

AIAA logo over a blue sky with clouds

ME Graduate Student Wins AIAA Award


Hongyuan Zhang, a graduate student in Suo Yang's Computational Reactive Flow and Energy Lab, won the Martin Summerfield Graduate Award from the American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics (AIAA).

Image Unavailable

Vinod Srinivasan Receives NSF CAREER Award


ME Assistant Professor Vinod Srinivasan received an NSF CAREER Award for his work on heat transfer research.

Winners of the 2020-2021 Haagen-Smit Clean Air Awards

Haagen-Smit Clean Air Award Goes to David Kittelson


The California Air Resources Board awarded the 2020-2021 Haagen-Smit Clean Air Awards to six recipients, including ME Professor David Kittelson.

Xray of lungs

Suhasa Kodandaramaiah Awarded NIH Grant for Recording Neural Activity


The NIH National Institute of Neurological Disorders and Stroke awarded $1.8 million to Suhasa Kodandaramaiah and Tim Ebner (Neuroscience) to develop better cranial exoskeletons for recording neural activity in mice.

Doctoral Dissertation Fellowship Winners graphic

Two ME Students Win Doctoral Dissertation Fellowships


ME PhD students Dingbin Huang and Guanyu Song have been awarded Doctoral Dissertation Fellowships for the 2022-2023 academic year.

ME Professor Michael McAlpine

Mike McAlpine Wins Excellence in Postdoctoral Advising Award


ME Professor Mike McAlpine received a 2021-2022 Award for Excellence in Postdoctoral Advising, which recognizes the central role that postdoctoral advising plays at the University.

Graduate student awards

2021-2022 Graduate Student Awards


Our department is home to award-winning graduate students who are propelling the future of mechanical engineering. Here is a list of this academic year's award winners.