The Latest From Mechanical Engineering

Update ME

The Department of Mechanical Engineering is an active research hub at the forefront of developments in human health, the environment, robotics, manufacturing, energy, and more. Our faculty, researchers, and students work on everything from designing clean engines to curing cancer. Read about what ME is doing to change the world right here in Minnesota.


ME Headshot

Tianhong Cui Elected to European Academy of Sciences and Arts


ME Professor Tianhong Cui has been elected to the European Academy of Sciences and Arts, a non-governmental, European association committed to promoting scientific and societal progress.

five adults stand in a row smiling while the middle person holds an award certificate

ME Ambassadors Win Outstanding Unit Award


The ME Ambassadors Program received the 2023 Outstanding Unit Award for Equity and Diversity, an award given by the Office for Equity and Diversity (OED) recognizing outstanding leadership in diversity and equity work. The award highlights units working to bring transformational and sustainable change to the University of Minnesota.

image of small blue airplane in foreground with line of students in the background on tarmac

Innovative “OpenSky” Midterm Takes Flight: UMN ME Students Pave the Way for Sustainable Aviation


Sustainable aviation fuel (SAF) is soaring into the future of aviation, and at UMN ME, students are at the forefront of this exciting transition. In a groundbreaking hands-on midterm experience, seniors in the ME4431w Energy Conversion Systems lab course, led by Assistant Professor Sayan Biswas, took to the skies to test SAF blends in a gas turbine-powered RC airplane. This is no traditional "open book" test — it's an open sky test!

Two men shake hands on a stage in front of a podium with an award

Inaugural University of Michigan Prize Goes to Peter Bruggeman


ME Professor Peter Bruggeman won the first University of Michigan Prize for Excellence in Plasma Science and Engineering "for contributions to the understanding of non-thermal plasma interactions with solids, liquids, and living matter, scientific leadership, and advancement of plasma-based technologies enabling applications in plasma-biology, chemical conversion, and water treatment.”

Biswas headshot 2021

Sayan Biswas Receives NASA Early Career Faculty Award


ME Assistant Professor Sayan Biswas recently received the NASA Early Career Faculty Award for his research developing a novel and versatile spacecraft coolant capable of efficient operation in various temperature extremes — a game-changer for future space missions to challenging conditions such as frigid lunar nights, low-power intervals, extended interplanetary journeys, or high-temperature conditions near the sun.

image of female student in solar vehicle with team behind her

Student Spotlight: Sophia Clark, ME Undergraduate and Chief Engineer of Gopher Motorsports


Gopher Motorsports, our Formula SAE student group, had an excellent summer. This group provides a hands-on experience designing and building experience and is sponsored by countless industry partners, offering excellent opportunities for students. Sophia Clark answered a few questions about the group.

image of university of minnesota logo and tropy with gold and maroon shapes behind them

Four ME Students Win DEI Awards


The 2023 Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Leadership Showcase awards recognize outstanding DEI-focused initiatives at the University — and four of this year's winners are mechanical engineering students!

twelve mechanical engineering graduate students stand in two rows in front of a building with large windows

Congratulations to the 2023 ME3MT Winners!


Congratulations to Carolyn Bernemann and Hyewon Lee on winning this year's ME3MT competition! Bernemann won both First Place and People's Choice, and Lee won Second Place. They will both advance to the CSE level competition on October 23.

dark gray graphic with blue accents in corners that says CSE collegiate award winners

Two ME Faculty Members Win CSE Collegiate Awards


ME Professors Chris Hogan and Uwe Kortshagen were selected to receive 2023 CSE Taylor Awards for their contributions to the University.

headshot of caucasian woman with long brown hair wearing a blue shirt

McAlpine Group Researcher Meghan Griffin Wins Prestigious NSF Fellowship


Meghan Griffin, a biomedical engineering PhD student advised by ME Professor Michael McAlpine, was awarded a National Science Foundation Graduate Research Fellowship, a highly competitive award that recognizes and supports outstanding graduate students who have demonstrated the potential to be high achieving scientists and engineers.