Edward Silberman Fellowship

Learn more about the Silberman Fellowship:

Expand all

History of the Award

The family of Professor Edward Silberman established this fellowship fund in honor of their father, to endow a lasting legacy in his name to provide fellowships to students at the University of Minnesota’s St. Anthony Falls Laboratory. Silberman earned his B.S. and M.S. from the Department of CivilEngineering in the mid-1930s. He started his career at SAFL in 1946 and took over the directorship of SAFL in 1963 after the death of founding director Lorenz Straub.

Over the next decade Silberman worked tirelessly to build the foundation of excellence from which SAFL’s successes of today are founded. He retired as Professor Emeritus at the end of 1981. Silberman’s research interest has been in the area of fluid mechanics, especially on boundary layers, turbulence and cavitation, and in water resources management. He is the author or co-author of more than 50 publications based upon his research efforts. Th e coursework he taught related to his interests in fluid mechanics and water resources management.

The family made this gift to honor the lasting contributions of their father to SAFL and in celebration of his 90th birthday.

Nomination Guidelines and Rules

Applicants are expected to:

  • Progress satisfactorily toward completion of the research component of their degree
  • Maintain high academic standards and achieve a cumulative minimum grade point average of at least 3.5

Students seeking a Master's degree only are expected to pursue the thesis option (Plan A). Students continuing towards a Ph.D. degree at the University of Minnesota may select the non-thesis option (Plan B) and proceed to their doctorate program

SAFL faculty may submit letters of nomination to SAFaward@umn.edu.

Past Recipients

Year Recipient
2022 Reyhaneh Rahimi
2021 Brandon Sloan
2020 Aliza Abraham
2019 Lucia Baker and Sagar Tamang
2018 Santosh Kumar
2017 Michael Heisel
2016 Maria Garcia-Serrana
2014-2015 Ashish Karn and Jonathan Czuba
2013 Craig Hill
2012 Mohammad Ebtehaj and Andrew Erickson
2011 Amy T. Hansen
2010 Bereket Yohannes
2009 Vamsi Ganti
2008 Leonardo Chamorro
2007 Eric Novotny
2006 Paola Passalacqua
2005 Miguel Wong
2004 Maria Spitael