SAFL Affiliated Faculty

SAFL's faculty researchers come from various departments across the UMN campus, but their research interests intersect across a spectrum of fluids-related questions and problems. SAFL faculty include experimentalists, modelers, and field researchers that frequently collaborate on research questions and projects that look to address major challenges confronting society. Most faculty house their research groups and graduate students at SAFL.

SAFL Affiliated Faculty

Lian Shen

Lian Shen

Director of the St. Anthony Falls Laboratory
Professor of Mechanical Engineering
SAFL Office 301
ph: 612-624-2022
shen@umn.edu
Research group website

Ardeshir Ebtehaj

Ardeshir Ebtehaj

Assistant Professor of Civil, Environmental and Geo-Engineering
SAFL Office 378
ph: 612-301-1483
ebtehaj@umn.edu
Research group website

Photo of Roger Arndt

Roger Arndt

Professor Emeritus of Civil, Environmental, and Geo-Engineering
SAFL Office 381
ph: 612-625-2883
arndt001@umn.edu

Photo of Xue Feng

Xue Feng

Assistant Professor of Civil, Environmental, and Geo- Engineering
SAFL Office 387
feng@umn.edu
Research group website

Photo of Jacques Finlay

Jacques Finlay

Professor of Ecology, Evolution and Behavior
ph: 612-624-4672
jfinlay@umn.edu
Research group website

Photo of Efi Foufoula-Georgiou

Efi Foufoula-Georgiou

Professor Emeritus of Civil, Environmental, and Geo-Engineering
efi@umn.edu

Michele Guala photo

Michele Guala

Associate Director of Research for 
the St. Anthony Falls Laboratory

Associate Professor of Civil, Environmental, and Geo- Engineering
SAFL Office 382
ph: 612-625-9108
mguala@umn.edu 
Research group website

Photo of John Gulliver

John Gulliver

Professor of Civil, Environmental, and Geo- Engineering
SAFL Office 389
ph: 612-625-4080
gulli003@umn.edu
SAFL stormwater website

Photo of Kimberly Hill

Kimberly Hill

Associate Professor of Civil, Environmental, and Geo- Engineering
SAFL Office 384
ph: 612-626-0311
kmhill@umn.edu

Photo of Miki Hondzo

Miki Hondzo

James L. Record Professor of Civil, Environmental, and Geo- Engineering
SAFL Office 385
ph: 612-625-0053
mhondzo@umn.edu

Photo of Jiarong Hong

Jiarong Hong

Associate Director of the Eolos Wind Energy Research Consortium
Associate Professor of Mechanical Engineering
SAFL Office 381
ph: 612-624-5102
jhong@umn.edu
Flow Field Imaging Lab
Cavitation and bubbly flows Lab

Photo of Peter Kang

Peter Kang

Assistant Professor of Earth Sciences
ph: 612-624-5779
pkkang@umn.edu 
Research group website

Photo of Sungyon Lee

Sungyon Lee

Benjamin Mayhugh Assistant Professor
Department of Mechanical Engineering
612-625-2315
sungyon@umn.edu
 

Photo of Omid Mohseni

Omid Mohseni

Adjunct Associate Professor of Civil, Environmental, and Geo- Engineering
omohseni@umn.edu

Photo of Gene-Hua Crystal Ng

Gene-Hua Crystal Ng

Assistant Professor of Earth Sciences
SAFL Office 387
ph: 612-624-9243
gcng@umn.edu
Research group website

Photo of Chris Paola

Chris Paola

CSE Distinguished Professor of Earth Sciences, Director of NCED2
SAFL Office 376B
ph: 612-624-8025
cpaola@umn.edu

Photo of Gary Parker

Gary Parker

Adjunct Professor
parkerg@ad.uiuc.edu

Photo of Fotis Sotiropoulos

Fotis Sotiropoulos

Adjunct Professor of Civil, Environmental, and Geo- Engineering
fotis@umn.edu

Photo of Heinz Stefan

Heinz Stefan

Professor Emeritus of Civil, Environmental, and Geo-Engineering
SAFL Office 383
ph: 612-625-2810
stefa001@umn.edu

Photo of Vaughan Voller

Vaughan Voller

James L. Record Professor of Civil, Environmental, and Geo- Engineering, Co-Director of NCED2
SAFL Office 383
ph: 612-625-0764
volle001@umn.edu

Photo of Andy Wickert

Andy Wickert

Assistant Professor of Earth Sciences
SAFL Office 379
ph: 612-625-5446
awickert@umn.edu
Research group website

Headshot of Judy Yang

Judy Yang

Assistant Professor of Civil, Environmental, and Geo- Engineering
judyyang@umn.edu
Research group website