SAFL Spring Awards Ceremony

SAFL is excited to host a virtual special awards ceremony on May 4th, 2021 that will celebrate students in the St. Anthony Falls Laboratory (SAFL) community. We are tremendously grateful to have such talented, dedicated students at SAFL, and it is a privilege to celebrate them with awards that honor not only them and their accomplishments, but the legacies of the people who have helped SAFL become what it is today.

We will be presenting the 2020 - 2021 Alvin G. Andersen Award, the Heinz G. Stefan Fellowship, and the Nels Nelson Memorial Fellowship. Family members will be present to speak about the award namesakes, the recipients will be introduced by their respective advisors, and the recipients will give remarks on their research.  We expect the event to last approximately an hour. 

2020 - 2021 Award Recipients:

Alvin G. Anderson Award - Kerry Callaghan, former PhD student from the Department of Earth and Environmental Sciences (advisor Andrew Wickert)
Heinz G. Stefan Fellowship - Lun Gao, PhD student from the Department of Civil, Environmental, and Geo- Engineering (advisor Ardeshir Ebtehaj)
Nels Nelson Memorial Fellowship - Yuanqing Liu, PhD student from the Department of Mechanical Engineering (advisor Lian Shen)

You can learn more about this year’s recipients in this linked program



Start date
Tuesday, May 4, 2021, 3 p.m.