Nels Nelson Memorial Fellowship

Learn about the Nels Nelson Memorial Fellowship

Expand all

History of the Award

Nels Nelson received his B.S. and M.S. in Civil Engineering at the University of Minnesota, St. Anthony Falls Laboratory. At Barr Engineering, he eventually came to be head of the Water Resources group and chairman of the company's Board of Directors. In these roles, he became known for his industry knowledge, broad perspective, forward-looking analyses, probing questions and quick wit. 

Established by Barr Engineering in memory of Nels, the Nels P. Nelson Fellowship is given to a University of Minnesota student pursuing graduate studies in a water resources-related discipline at the St. Anthony Falls Laboratory.  Special consideration is given to students involved in hydraulics, hydrology, sediment transport, water quality or surface water management. The Nelson Fellowship provides a monetary award of $8,000 to the graduate student, with the funds to be used at the student’s discretion in support of his or her graduate education.

Nomination Guidelines and Rules

Applicants are expected to have:

  • Completed at least one year of their graduate program.
  • Made satisfactory progress toward completion of the requirements of their degree.
  • Maintained high academic standards.

SAFL faculty may submit letters of nomination to

Past Recipients

Year Recipient Advisor
2023 Noah Gallagher John Gulliver
2022 Woonghee Lee Peter Kang
2021 Yuanqing Liu Lian Shen
2020 Kyungduck Yoon Jiarong Hong
2019 Rochelle Widmer Kimberly Hill
2018 Vinicius Taguchi John Gulliver
2017 Tyler Olsen John Gulliver
2016 Nicholas Evans Chris Paola
2013 Anwar Chengala Miki Hondzo