Stephen Campbell

Photo of Professor Stephen Campbell

Stephen Campbell

Russell J. Penrose Professor, Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering


Physics And Nanotechnology Building
Room 140
115 Union St. Se
Minneapolis, MN 55455


Director, Minnesota Nano Center


Ph.D., Physics, 1978, Northwestern University, Evanston, IL, United States
M.S., Physics, 1978, Northwestern University, Evanston, IL, United States
B.A., Physics, 1975, College of St. Thomas, St. Paul, MN, United States

Professional Background

2D materials, MEMS, thin film photovoltaics

Research Interests

Campbell Research Group Site

In research, Professor Campbell is most well known for pioneering efforts in high permittivity (aka high-k) materials for the gate insulator in deeply scaled MOSFETs. This revolution in transistor design has now been adopted by most of the leading edge integrated circuit manufacturers. His other current interests include ultra high speed MEMS, where he has demonstrated sub-nanosecond mechanical switching, silicon nanoparticle devices where he is building transistors and quantum dot LEDs, and efficient thin film photovoltaics. In the education area, Professor Campbell leads the University’s participation in Nano-Link, an NSF sponsored regional center for nanotechnology education at the AAS level. He has designed and implemented a one-semester capstone experience. Professor Campbell is the author of The Science and Technology of Microelectronic Fabrication, the most widely used textbook on microfabrication. After more than a dozen printings, it is now in its third edition. Professor Campbell’s teaching experience includes Microfabrication, Semiconductor Devices, Electromagnetic Fields, Analog Electronics, Linear Circuits, Circuits Lab, Senior Design, and Materials and Devices. He serves as the Minnesota lead for the National Nanotechnology Infrastructure Network (NNIN), a network established by NSF to support nanotechnology research.  He directs the University’s Minnesota Nano Center, a state-of-the-art facility for interdisciplinary research in nanoscience and applied nanotechnology.

Honors and Awards

2015 Russell J. Penrose Professorship in Nanotechnology
2011 George W. Taylor Award for Distinguished Service (Collegiate Award)
2007 IEEE Fellow IEEE
2007 Sanford P. and Lenore Edgerton Bordeau Chair in Electrical and Computer Engineering
2006 College of Science and Engineering (formerly Institute of Technology) Distinguished Professor 
2005 George W. Taylor Award for Distinguished Teaching 
1989 Presidential Young Investigator (National Science Foundation)


Fabrication Engineering at the Micro- and Nanoscale, Oxford University Press, Fourth Edition

Selected Publications

"Bulk and interface characterization and modeling of copper indium aluminum gallium selenide (CIAGS) solar cells”, MJ Sibakoti, S Karthikeyan, S Hwang, T Bontrager, and SA Campbell, Photovoltaics Specialists Conference (PVSC), 2016 IEEE 43rd (2016).

“Revealing the Origins of 3D Anisotropic Thermal Conductivities of Black Phosphorus”, J Zhu, H Park, JY Chen, X Gu, H Zhang, S Karthikeyan, N Wendel, SA Campbell, M Dawber, X Du, M Li, JP Wang, R Yang, and X Wang, Advanced Electronic Materials (2016).

“Polymer-sandwiched ultra-thin silicon (100) layer for flexible electronics”, Y Zhang, SA Campbell, and L Zhang, Biomedical Engineering and Informatics (BMEI), 2015 8th International Conference on (2015).

“Properties of electrophoretically deposited single wall carbon nanotube films”, J Lim, M Jalali, and SA Campbell, Thin Solid Films (2015).

“Cu2ZnSnS4 thin film growth optimization and post rapid thermal annealing of solar cells and its influence on device performance”, L Zhang, S Karthikeyan, MJ Sibakoti, and SA Campbell, Photovoltaic Specialist Conference (PVSC), 2015 IEEE 42nd (2015).