Signals - the ECE newsletter

Expand all

Signals - spring 2022

Dear alumni and friends,

The last few months have seen Regents Professor Ned Mohan honored for his influential contribution to power education, and other faculty recognized for their significant and critical innovations and inventions. We share with you the impact of their work.

Our students and alumni, needless to say, have also been attracting attention for their research and teaching excellence, and we bring to you their achievements. We also share with you the story of Steven Bell’s unusual journey to ECE. Take a wander through the spring issue of Signals and acquaint yourself with the brilliant work being carried out by your ECE family.


Regents Professor Ned Mohan awarded IEEE James H. Mulligan Jr. Education medal


Professor Jian-Ping Wang to be inducted fellow of National Academy of Inventors

Professor Steven Koester named Optica Fellow

Professor Sang-Hyun Oh named Optica Fellow

Professor Doug Ernie receives 2021 Joseph M. Biedenbach Distinguished Service Award

Regents Professor Ned Mohan named INAE Fellow


Lines to Electrical Engineering

Duarte de Sousa awarded IEEE EDS Ph.D. Student Fellowship

Best paper award for Sapatnekar research group at IEEE/ACM International Conference

ECE students win at 2021 IEM Annual Conference poster session

Peter Christenson receives Mistletoe Research Fellowship

Konstantinos Polyzos awarded Onassis scholarship


Alumnus Ted Brekken recognized for teaching excellence



Signals - fall 2021

Dear alumni and friends,

It has been a while since our last newsletter went out in January of this year. COVID-19 has altered the landscape of how we operate and go about our personal and professional lives. At the University of Minnesota, with widespread availability of vaccines and testing, we have been able to gather back on campus. However, the pandemic is not over, and we are following all the protocols and recommendations of experts so we can safely continue our research and academic missions.

In June, we moved to a new website that allows us to celebrate student and alumni accomplishments more visibly. While we continue to improve the website, we hope you browse through and enjoy the stories that we bring to you.


Alumnus Damodar Pai: Scientist and inventor


Professor Keshab Parhi honored with IEEE CAS Society John Choma Education Award

Professors Stadler, Franklin, and Low are recipients of collegiate awards

Assistant Professor Martina Cardone’s research on secure communication recognized by NSF CAREER Award

Assistant Professor Jungwon Choi’s research on wireless power technology recognized by NSF CAREER Award

Associate Professor Tony Low on Clarivate Analytics 2020 global list of highly cited researchers

Professors Oh, Koester, and Low are part of team that authored Nature Communications review article


Minki Kim wins best presentation at APEC 2021

Peter Christenson awarded interdisciplinary fellowship

Marie Wulff wins prestigious Brooke Owens fellowship

Yali Zhang wins ARFTG Pollard award

Doctoral dissertation fellowships awarded to three Ph.D. students

Madhusudan, Manasi, and Zhou receive Cadence scholarships


Alumnus Yingjie Lao wins NSF CAREER Award for AI research

Alumnus Tianyi Chen receives IEEE SPS best dissertation award




Signals - fall 2022

Dear alumni and friends,

A lot has happened in the ECE community since our spring 2022 issue of Signals. The UMN Solar Vehicle Project team brought home the ASC trophy, our faculty have made critical advancements that have implications at the fundamental and applicable levels, and our students continue to embody the spirit of curiosity, and discovery. They also come from a diverse background and manifest determination and grit even as the odds are stacked against them. Darnell Otterson is one such student. Wander through the fall 2022 edition of Signals to learn more about what we have all been up to over the last few months.


Solar Vehicle Project wins American Solar Challenge



Professor Keshab Parhi elected AIMBE fellow

Professor Rhonda Franklin is McKnight Presidential Endowed Professor

In memoriam: Professor James (Jim) Holte

Professor David Orser receives Horace T. Morse Alumni Award for undergraduate education

Professor Martina Cardone awarded McKnight Land-Grant Professorship

Professor Chris Kim recognized as Distinguished McKnight University Professor

Smartphone-driven microfluidics for at-home diagnostics

ECE scientists demonstrate quantum computing using silicon technology

Researchers observe chirality and slow plasmons in twisted bilayer graphene