Thomas W. Jones

Tom Jones

Thomas "Tom" W. Jones

Professor, School of Physics and Astronomy


John T. Tate Hall
Room 285-02
116 Church Street Se
Minneapolis, MN 55455


Minnesota Institute for Astrophysics (MIfA)
Minnesota Supercomputing Institute (MSI)

Ph.D., University of Minnesota, 1972

M.S., University of Minnesota, 1969

B.S. (with highest honors), University of Texas at Austin, 1967

Professional Background
  • Fellow, Minnesota Supercomputing Institute, 1988-present
  • Interim Director, Minnesota Supercomputing Institute, 2008-2010
  • Chairman of the Department of Astronomy, 1981-1997
  • Professor of Astronomy, University of Minnesota, 1984
Scientific & Professional Societies
Fellow, American Physical Society
American Astronomical Society
International Astronomical Union
Research Interests

Theoretical and computational astrophysics, acceleration of cosmic rays, physics of diffusive shock acceleration, magnetohydrodynamics, galaxy clusters and the intracluster medium, radio galaxy dynamics, supernova remnant dynamics.

Honors and Awards

Fellow, American Physical Society, 2014

Selected Publications
  1. G. Brunetti & T. W. Jones, Cosmic rays in galaxy clusters and their interaction with magnetic fields, IJMPD, 23, 1430007 (2014)
  2. H. Kang, D. Ryu & T. W. Jones, Diffusive Shock Acceleration Simulations of Radio Relics, ApJ 2012, 756, 97 (2013)
  3. P. Mendygral, T. W, Jones & K. Dolag, MHD Simulations of Active Galactic Nuclei Jets in a Dynamic Galaxy Cluster, ApJ 750, 166 (2012)
  4. C. Pfrommer & T. W. Jones, “Radio Galaxy NGC 1265 unveils the Accretion Shock onto the Perseus Galaxy Cluster”, ApJ. 730, 22 (2011)
  5. P. P. Edmon, H. Kang, T. W. Jones & R. Ma, Nonthermal Radiation from Type Ia Supernova Remnants, 2011, MNRAS, 414, 3521 (2011)
  6. S.M. O’Neill & T. W. Jones, Three-dimensional Simulations of Bi-directed MHD Jets Interacting with Cluster Environments, Ap. J., 710, 180 (2010)
  7. A. Beresnyak, T.W. Jones & A. Lazarian, “Turbulence-induced magnetic fields and the structure of Cosmic Ray modified shocks”, Ap. J., 707, 1541 (2009)

Former Researchers and Students

  • Jennifer Delgado, Ph.D. 2013 (Kansas University)
  • Peter Mendygral, Ph.D. 2011 (Cray Inc.)
  • Paul Edmon, Ph.D. 2010 (Center for Astrophysics)
  • Sean O'Neill, Ph.D. 2007 (JILA)