Arkady Vainshtein

man with large gray hair

Arkady Vainshtein

Professor Emeritus, School of Physics and Astronomy



William I. Fine Theoretical Physics Institute (FTPI)


Ph.D., Budker Institute of Nuclear Physics, Novosibirsk, 1968

M.S., Novosibirsk University, 1964 

Professional Background

  • Gloria Becker Lubkin Chair in Theoretical Physics, 1990-2018
  • Member of William I. Fine Theoretical Physics Institute (FTPI), 1990-2018
  • Professor of Physics, University of Minnesota, 1990-2018
  • Director, FTPI, 1993-1996 
  • Co-organizer of the FTPI workshops “Continuous Advances in QCD” (every other year)
  • Co-coordinator of the program “QCD and String Theory,” Kavli Institute for Theoretical Physics, Santa Barbara, CA, 2004
  • Member of advisory committee of many workshops, schools and conferences.

Scientific & Professional Societies

Fellow, American Physical Society
Research Interests

Theory of fundamental interactions: gauge theories, supersymmetry. Operator product expansion and its applications.

Honors and Awards

  • Dirac Medal and Prize, 2016
  • Julius Wess Award, Karlsruhe Institute of Technology, 2014
  • Ya. Pomeranchuk Prize, ITEP, Moscow, 2005
  • J.J. Sakurai Prize for Theoretical Particle Physics, APS, 1999 
  • Fellow, American Physical Society, 1997

Selected Publications

  1. J. Chen, X. Cui, M. Shifman and A. Vainshtein, ''N=(0,2) deformation of (2, 2) sigma models: Geometric structure, holomorphic anomaly, and exact beta functions'', Phys. Rev. D 90, 045014 (2014)
  2. M. Shifman, A. Vainshtein, M.B. Voloshin and V.Zakharov, “Higgs boson decay into two photons through the W-boson Loop: No decoupling in the m_W -> 0 Limit''Phys. Rev. D 85, 013015 (2012) [abstract]
  3. A. Ritz and A. Vainshtein, “Dyon dynamics near marginal stability and non-BPS states“Phys. Lett. B 668, 148 (2008) [abstract]
  4. M. Shifman and A. Vainshtein, “Highly Excited Mesons, Linear Regge Trajectories and the Pattern of the Chiral Symmetry Realization''Phys. Rev. D77, 034002 (2008) [abstract]
  5. K. Melnikov and A. Vainshtein, Book: Theory of the muon anomalous magnetic momentBerlin, Germany: Springer, (2006)