Shifman named Regents Professor

Professor Mikhail “Misha” Shifman of the School of Physics and Astronomy and the Willliam I. Fine Theoretical Physics Institute has been named a University of Minnesota Regents Professor. This is the highest honor the University bestows on its faculty and Shifman joins Al Nier, Ed Ney, and current Regents Professor Emeritus Allen Goldman as members of the School who have been honored in this way. 

The Professorship honors Shifman’s numerous contributions to theoretical high-energy physics and his mentoring of students and postdocs. Shifman has received numerous national and international awards, including the Sakurai Prize of the American Physical Society (1999), the Lilienfeld Prize (2006), the Blaise Pascal Chair (2008),  the Dirac Medal and Prize in Theoretical Physics (2016), and he was elected  a member of the National Academy of Sciences in 2018. Professor Shifman has held the Ida Cohen Fine Chair in Theoretical Physics in the William I. Fine Theoretical Physics Institute since 2005 

The professorship comes with an annual salary augmentation for research and other activities.