Endowed Chairs

The Technological Leadership Institute’s endowed chairs serve as leaders within our three graduate programs. They are faculty members who have demonstrated excellence in teaching, bring high-profile research capabilities and deliver expertise in business and industry.

Kirk Froggatt

Kirk Froggatt

Gemini Chair in Technology Management

With a wealth of research and industry experience — Hewlett Packard, Yahoo! and Agilent Technologies, just to name a few — Kirk Froggatt develops and teaches courses in business, innovation fundamentals and leadership for TLI’s graduate programs. He also develops and delivers custom leadership and organization development programs for technical professionals and organizations seeking to improve their performance and results, and offers courses and seminars to undergraduates to introduce them to the business context for their work in science and technology.

Mike Johnson

Mike Johnson

James J. Renier Chair in the Management of Security Technologies

Mike Johnson serves as the director of graduate studies for the Master of Science in Security Technologies degree program at TLI. He also develops, teaches and administers graduate level courses in security technologies innovation, management and leadership, as well as participates in the development and delivery of customized short courses and professional development programs in response to industry needs. He brings more than 25 years of professional experience in security risk management, formerly serving as CISO and Operations Risk Director at Bremer Bank, and has gained broad skills in the areas of IT and information security risk management in a heavily regulated industry.

Alfred Marcus

Alfred Marcus, Ph.D.

Edson W. Spencer Chair in Strategic Management

Alfred Marcus teaches strategy, corporate responsibility and risk assessment classes at TLI, while focusing his research on clean tech venture capital and the emergence of economic clusters. He has consulted with numerous major corporations, including IBM, 3M and Xcel Energy, and has published numerous articles and books in his field. He also teaches classes at the University of Minnesota’s Carlson School of Management.

Daniel Mooradian

Daniel Mooradian, Ph.D.

James J. Renier Chair in Technology Management

Daniel Mooradian is the founder and president of The Simpatico Group LLC, chief science officer at Innova Medical Design, chief science officer at Novum Therapeutics, and leads TLI’s newest graduate program in Medical Device Innovation. In addition to serving as director of graduate studies for this program, he leads partnerships and course offerings for students in the medical device industry.

Tariq Samad

Tariq Samad, Ph.D.

Honeywell/W.R. Sweatt Chair in Technology Management

Dr. Tariq Samad brings more than 30 years of professional experience, leadership and expertise to TLI. His corporate career was spent at Honeywell, where he focused on technology strategy and management, encompassing the end-to-end concept-to-commercialization pathway. He also has substantial experience in research and innovation globally, and works with TLI to pursue research interests in areas such as clean energy, advanced manufacturing and smart cities. Dr. Samad serves as the director of graduate studies for the Master of Science in Management of Technology degree program at TLI.

Steven Webster

Steven Webster

Edson W. Spencer Chair in Technology Management

Steven Webster brings 31 years of experience with 3M to TLI’s graduate programs. Teaching primarily innovation classes and leading the Management of Technology minor program, Webster has expertise in new product development and commercialization; technology foresight, planning and development; innovative organization and design and effectiveness; leadership development; global business; Six Sigma, display technology; consumer electronics and communications technology.