Senior design awards announced

May 11, 2021—The Department of Biomedical Engineering's Virtual Senior Design Showcase recognized several seniors who presented their devices and prototypes. 

Eighteen groups of seniors in the department's undergraduate program competed at the April 28 showcase, with the following teams winning awards. Both faculty and industry collaborators served as mentors and judges. 

First place

Team #13

NasoNostics: Advancing Nasal Washes for Comprehensive Viral Sampling
Members: Joseph Broomhead, Justyn Fine, Eric Ginter, Nicholas Patrick, and Alexander Yee
Advisors: Daniel Larkin (Family Medicine, Fairview) and Ishraf Ahmad (UnitedHealthcare)

Prototype for NasoNostics: Advancing Nasal Washes for Comprehensive Viral Sampling
Prototype from Team #13 (NasoNostics: Advancing Nasal Washes for Comprehensive Viral Sampling)

Second place (tie):

Team #4

Aerosol Blockage
Members: Danny Houtz, Catherine Lee, Dylan Machalek, Kyleigh Pacello, and Joe Thoen
Advisors: Rick Odland (Otolaryngology, Hennepin Healthcare) and Sandra Long (UnitedHealthcare)

Aerosol Blockage prototype
Prototype from Team #4 (Aerosol Blockage)

Team #7

AccuLiver: Longitudinal Assessment of Liver Function
Members: Theodore Jennings, Minwoo Kim, Alex O'Brien, Zoe Weller, and Kathryn Woods
Advisors: Joram Slager (Surmodics) and Anil Chauhan (UMN Department of Radiology)

Third place:

Team #15

Accessible Point-of-Care and Minimal-Cost Physical Therapy Quantification Using Markerless Pose Estimators
Members: Jeffrey Ai, Brooks Hodenfield, Dominic Marticorena, Marcos Zachary, and Ben Ziegelbein
Advisors: Andrew Schmidt (Orthopedic Surgery, Hennepin Healthcare) and Katherine Batman (Abbott)

People’s Choice winners:

Team #18

Remote Diagnosis of Acute Otitis Media
Members: Michael Braman, Cole Homer, Frederic Lin, Kalli Schaefer, and Cole Theobald
Advisors: James Harmon (UMN Department of Surgery), John Allen (Coloplast), and Patrick Zito (Coloplast)

Cell phones with app mock-ups; text says "Echo: Comprehensive Ear Infection Diagnostic"
Design from Team #18 (Remote Diagnosis of Acute Otitis Media)

Team #9

Members: Emily Chandler, Rachel Gasser, Lexi Kedzierski, Emma Sethi, and Josh Stadler
Advisors: Carrie Neerland (UMN Obstetrics) and Niraj Rauniyar (Boston Scientific)

Prototype from Team #9 (DuoPouch)
Prototype from Team #9 (DuoPouch)