News, Events & CEMS Seminars

CEMS Logo on wall in Amundson Hall




Tuesday, Jan. 17: No seminar, first day of classes in Spring semester

Thursday, Jan. 19: No seminar, training session for faculty, graduate students, postdocs

Tuesday, Jan. 24: CEMS faculty candidate (advertised internally)

Tuesday, Jan. 31: CEMS faculty candidate (advertised internally)

Tuesday, Feb. 7: CEMS faculty candidate (advertised internally)

Tuesday, Feb 14: CEMS faculty candidate (advertised internally)

Tuesday, Feb. 21: No seminar, information session invited by CEMS DEI Working Group - Inclusive Teaching faculty/staff for CEMS instructors and teaching assistants (current and future) and student-facing staff

Tuesday, Feb. 28: CEMS faculty candidate (advertised internally)


March 6-10: No seminars: UMN Spring Break and APS meeting

Tuesday, March 21: Dr. Gianluigi A. Botton, McMaster University

Tuesday, March 28: Dr. Martha A. Grover, Georgia Institute of Technology


Tuesday, April 4: Dr. Suljo Linic, University of Michigan

Tuesday, April 11: No seminar

Thursday, April 13, Amundson Lecture: Dr. Gilda A. Barabino, President of Olin College of Engineering

Thursday, April 20: Dr. Peter Bruggeman, University of Minnesota, Twin Cities

Tuesday, April 18, PPG Lecture: Dr. Subramanian Ramakrishnan, Florida A&M University-Florida State University College of Engineering

Tuesday, April 25, Fredrickson Lecture: Dr. Melody A. Swartz, The University of Chicago

Tuesday, May 2: Dr. Irene J. Beyerlein, UC Santa Barbara




University of Minnesota Commencement Information

Posted March 21, 2023

Feb 7 2023 - Visit the 2023 University Commencement website for more information about the conferral ceremonies, live streams, tickets, ordering caps and gowns, and for more details about stage crossings. This site will continue to be updated as additional information is available.

data science

University of Minnesota to offer new Data Science for Chemical Engineering and Materials Science master’s degree

Posted March 20, 2023

Mar 8, 2023 - In fall 2023, the University of Minnesota Twin Cities College of Science and Engineering will begin offering a new master’s degree in data science for chemical engineering and materials science to meet the growing industry demand for scientists and engineers with computational and data analytics skills.


Register for the Coating Process Fundamentals Short Course

Posted March 18, 2023

Mar 8, 2023 - This 2.5 day in person course provides coating engineers, scientists and researchers with an understanding of the principles of premetered coating processes and solidification phenomena that are central to developing high performance, precision coatings used in a variety of industries.


Associate Professor Vivian Ferry awarded an International Institute for Biosensing grant

Posted March 17, 2023

Mar 22 2023 - Associate Professor Vivian Ferry was recently awarded a $225,000 grant for her research proposal, "Selective detection of chiral pesticides with plasmonic metasurfaces using surface-enhanced Raman spectroscopy" as part of the International Institute for Biosensing (IIB), a new globally-engaged institute at the University of Minnesota focused on advancing biosensing research.


CEMS team wins 2023 TMS Materials Bowl

Posted March 17, 2023

Mar 21 2023 - For the second year in a row, a team of CEMS students won the The Minerals, Metals & Materials Society (TMS) Materials Bowl, a materials-themed knowledge and trivia competition, held at the TMS Annual Meeting & Exhibition. To compete, each school's Material Advantage (MA) chapter can assemble a team of four chapter members and one graduate student to represent their school.

johhny zhang

CEMS graduate student Yi "Johnny" Zhang wins prestigious Ovshinsky Student Travel Award

Posted March 15, 2023

Mar 16 2023 - Yi "Johnny" Zhang, a fifth-year materials science Ph.D. student in Professor Chris Leighton's research group, recently won an Ovshinsky Student Travel Award to participate in the 2023 American Physical Society March Meeting, sponsored by the Division of Materials Physics. Zhang presented his work on the chemical vapor transport (CVT) crystal growth and thermal properties of the delafossite material PdCoO2.


Michelle Calabrese selected for UKPPG/DPOLY Polymer Lecture Exchange

Posted March 14, 2023

Mar 15 2023 - Assistant Professor Michelle Calabrese has been selected by the Division of Polymer Physics (DPOLY) of the American Physical Society (APS) and the Polymer Physics Group of the Institute of Physics in the United Kingdom (UKPPG) for the 2023 UKPPG/DPOLY Polymer Lecture Exchange. She will serve as the DPOLY representative to the UKPPG and present her research at the 2024 UK Polymer Physics Group Physical Aspects of Polymer Science Meeting on September 11–13, 2024 in Edinburgh, Scotland. Established in 2009, the UKPPG/DPOLY Polymer Lecture Exchange honors faculty members in the early stages of their careers.


Professor Aditya Bhan named 2023 Distinguished McKnight University Professor

Posted March 13, 2023

Mar 14 2023 - Professor Aditya Bhan is among nine honorees named as 2023 Distinguished McKnight University Professors. The program recognizes the most distinguished and highest-achieving mid-career faculty who have recently attained full professor status—especially those who have made significant advances in their careers at the University of Minnesota, whose work and reputation are identified with the University, and whose accomplishments have brought great renown and prestige to Minnesota. 

Joe headshot

Professor Joe Zasadzinski elected as a Fellow of the American Institute of Chemical Engineers

Posted February 27, 2023

Feb 28, 2023 - Professor Joe Zasadzinski has been elected as a Fellow of the American Institute of Chemical Engineers (AIChE), the highest grade of membership. The AIChE Board of Directors elects new members, generally based upon recommendation of the AIChE Admissions Committee.

bates emmy

Regents Professor Frank Bates part of Emmy award-winning team

Posted February 19, 2023

Feb 21 2023 - Professors Frank Bates, David Blank, Marc Hillmyer, and Aaron Massari have each received a Lone Star Emmy Award for their respective production roles in University of Texas, Rio Grande Valley’s ‘Energía Y TÚ.’ The show, a Spanish adaptation of the University of Minnesota’s own Energy and U, won the award in the Informational/Instructional – Short Form or Long Form Content category.