Moscowitz Memorial Lectureship in Chemistry

Albert Moscowitz

The Moscowitz Memorial Lectureship in Chemistry was established by friends and colleagues of Professor Albert Moscowitz (1929-1996) to honor his many contributions to molecular spectroscopy. He was known for his research on the interpretation of optical rotation and circular dichroism spectra in terms of the structures of chiral molecules. In collaboration with colleagues in the medical sciences, he developed important applications of his methods to biomedical systems. Throughout his career, Moscowitz held numerous visiting professorships at other universities, and served on the editorial boards of the leading journals in chemical physics. His work was honored by election as Foreign Member of the Danish Royal Academy of Sciences and Letters, and as a Fellow of the American Physical Society.

2023 Lecture

Coming soon!

  • 2022: Jillian L. Dempsey, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
  • 2021: Latha Venkataraman, Columbia University
  • 2021: Teri Odom, Northwestern University
  • 2019: Veronique Van Speybroek, Ghent University
  • 2018: Martin Moskovits, University of California, Santa Barbara
  • 2017: Emily Carter, Princeton University
  • 2016: Georg Kresse, Wein
  • 2014: Zhen-Gang Wang, Caltech
  • 2014: Frank Neese, Max Plank Institute - Muelhiem
  • 2013: Anthony Legon, University of Bristol, UK
  • 2011: Marsha Lester, University of Pennsylvania
  • 2011: So Hirata, University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign
  • 2010: Mike Duncan, University of Georgia
  • 2008: Mike Frisch, Gaussian, Inc.
  • 2007: Benjamin J. Schwartz, University of California, Los Angeles
  • 2006: Peter Rossky, University of Texas
  • 2006: F. Fleming Crim, University of Wisconsin
  • 2006: Peter Rossky, University of Texas
  • 2004: Giancinto Scoles, Princeton University
  • 2002: Walter Thiel, Max Plank Institute - Muelhiem
  • 2002: Jean-Luc Bredas, University of Arizona
  • 2000: Stuart Rice, University of Chicago
  • 2000: Bruce Berne, Columbia University
  • 1999: C. Daniel Frisbie, University of Minnesota, CEMS
  • 1998: R.Stephen Berry, University of Chicago