Chemistry External Advisory Board

Pursuing enhancement strategies

We have formed a Chemistry External Advisory Board (CEAB) that 

  • advises us on academic, program, and strategic issues;
  • helps us with promotion and recognition; and
  • provides philanthropic support and assistance in seeking public and private financial support.

Contact information

David Blank, Department of Chemistry Head
(612) 624-1880
139 Smith Hall
207 Pleasant St SE
Minneapolis, MN 55455

Leading scientists in their fields

Members of the CEAB are leading scientists from a variety of industries, and many are University of Minnesota and Department of Chemistry alumni.

CEAB members

Timothy Abraham, Ph.D.
Timothy Abraham, Ph.D., Cargill
Anna Belu, Ph.D,
Anna Belu, Ph.D., Medtronic
Robert Duan, Ph.D.
Robert Duan, Ph.D., Valspar
Karl Haider, Ph.D.
Karl Haider, Ph.D., Covestro LLC
Scott Pearson, Ph.D.
Scott Pearson, Ph.D., The Coca-Cola Company
Steven Tinker, Ph.D.
Steven Tinker, Ph.D., SBC Industries
Janet Zuffa, Ph.D.
Janet Zuffa, Ph.D., Masonite Corporation


Gregory Anderson, Ph.D.
Gregory Anderson, Ph.D., 3M
Arthur Coury, Ph.D.
Arthur Coury, Ph.D., Northeastern University  
Shawn Feist
Shawn D. Feist, The Dow Chemical Company
Daniel LeCloux, Ph.D.
Daniel LeCloux, Ph.D., DuPont Microcircuit Materials
Martin Rigney, Ph.D.
Martin Rigney, Ph.D., Ecolab (retired)
Darrel Untereker, Ph.D.
Darrel Untereker, Ph.D., Medtronic (retired)


Tina Arrowood, Ph.D.
Tina Arrowood, Ph.D., DuPont Water Solutions
Robert DeMaster, Ph.D.
Robert DeMaster, Ph.D., 3M (retired), Suntava
Paul Guehler, Ph.D.
Paul Guehler, Ph.D., 3M (retired)
Yong Li, Ph.D.
Yong Li, Ph.D., Eastman Chemical Company
Terrance Smith, Ph.D.
Terrance "Terry" Smith, Ph.D., 3M
Steve Vanderboom
Steve Vanderboom, Pace Analytical Service