ACS Student Chapter selected for Commendable and Green Chemistry Awards

MINNEAPOLIS / ST. PAUL (03/04/2022)—The University of Minnesota (UMN) American Chemical Society (ACS) student chapter received special recognition for the 2020-2021 academic year, earning both Commendable and Green Chemistry Chapter Awards.

The ACS’s Society Committee on Education (SOCED) selects the award winners after reviewing chapter reports of programs and activities. In addition to receiving the Commendable Chapter Award, the UMN ACS student chapter was one of just 27 groups to also receive a Green Chemistry Award for successfully completing green chemistry activities throughout the year.

The UMN ACS student chapter is a student group where students of chemistry-related fields come together to further their understanding of chemistry. The chapter aims to facilitate networking between members and practicing chemists, encourage interest in science, and expand students’ knowledge of chemistry through meetings and activities.

The current UMN ACS student chapter is led by Chapter President Joshua Gann, Vice President Carolyn Dewey, Secretary Lauren Craig, Treasurer William Chan, Outreach Officer Aaditya Nandakumar, Special Events Coordinator Tyler Rife, and is advised by Professor Jane Wissinger.

Interested students can get involved with ACS by sending an email to