Bryce L. Crawford, Jr. Memorial Lectureship in Chemistry

Bryce Crawford

Bryce L. Crawford Jr. was a renowned Department of Chemistry professor and scientist. He died in September 2011, at the age of 96. He joined the department in 1940, and became a full professor of physical chemistry in 1946. He was chair of the department from 1955 to 1960, and was dean of the graduate school from 1960 to 1972. He retired in 1985. He loved studying molecular vibrations and force constants, and the experimental side of molecular spectroscopy and molecular structure. During World War II, Crawford worked in research on rocket propellants, making significant contributions to rocketry, and the development of solid propellants for the much larger rockets that evolved after the war. Crawford received many honors during his career, including the prestigious American Chemical Society Priestley Medal; and being named a Fellow of the Society for Applied Spectroscopy, a Guggenheim Fellow at the California Institute of Technology, and a Fulbright Fellow at Oxford University. He held the distinction of membership in three honorary science academies, and was actively involved in many professional associations.

2023 Lecture


Headshot photograph of Guowei Wei

Tuesday, February 7th, 2023

Professor Guowei Wei

Michigan State University

“Mechanisms of SARS-CoV-2 Evolution and Transmission”

  • 2022: Angela M. Gronenborn, University of Pittsburgh
  • 2021: Michael Fayer, Stanford University
  • 2020: Tianquan Lian, Emory University
  • 2018: Dongping Zhong, Ohio State University
  • 2017: Keith Nelson, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
  • 2015: David Jonas, University of Colorado
  • 2014: Dana Dlott, University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign
  • 2013: Andrei Tokmakoff, University of Chicago
  • 2012: Mischa Bonn, Max-Planck-Institute for Polymer Research
  • 2012: Martin Gruebele, University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign
  • 2008: David Nesbitt, University of Colorado at Boulder
  • 2003: A. R. Ravishnakara, University of Colorado
  • 2002: X. Sunney Xie, Harvard University
  • 2001: Robert Field, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
  • 2000: William A. Goddard III, California Institute of Technology
  • 1999: Richard Saykally, University of California, Berkeley
  • 1998: Michael Klein, University of Pennsylvania
  • 1997: Rudolph Marcus, California Institute of Technology
  • 1995: Ken Eisenthal, Columbia University
  • 1994: Robert G. Parr, University of North Carolina