Department News

Department News

Professor Donald Truhlar
Faculty Honors/Awards

Seven chemistry faculty ranked as Top Scientists in the World, including Professor Donald Truhlar at #14

Posted May 13, 2022

In the first edition of’s top scientists ranking, seven current Department of Chemistry faculty were included in the disciplines of Chemistry and Materials Science. Professor Donald Truhlar led the way, with a ranking of #14 in the world and #9 in the United States in Chemistry. He is joined by Professors Lawrence Que, Marc Hillmyer, Timothy Lodge, Jiali Gao, Andreas Stein, and Ilja Siepmann.

portrait of Professor Philippe Buhlmann
Faculty Honors/Awards

Phil Buhlmann selected as a CSE Distinguished Professor

Posted May 12, 2022

Professor Phil Buhlmann has been named a recipient of the College of Science and Engineering (CSE) Distinguished Professorship, an award designed to honor exceptional faculty for their efforts in and contributions to teaching and scholarly research and for their genuine commitment to CSE and its activities.

Mahmoud Matar Abed
Student Honors/Awards

Mahmoud Matar Abed receives GEM Fellowship sponsored by NASA

Posted May 10, 2022

Mahmoud Matar Abed, a second-year graduate student in Professor Christy Haynes’ lab, has been awarded a GEM Fellowship from the National GEM Consortium. The GEM Fellowship program promotes the participation of underrepresented groups in post-graduate science and engineering education and the technical workforce.

Professor Lawrence Que in front to elements display
Faculty Honors/Awards

Professor Larry Que elected to the National Academy of Sciences

Posted May 5, 2022

Larry Que is a Regents and Distinguished University Teaching Professor in the University of Minnesota Twin Cities Department of Chemistry who has made a tremendous impact in the field of bioinorganic chemistry.

Yukino Nakamura
Student Honors/Awards

Chemistry undergraduates recognized at Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Leadership Showcase

Posted May 3, 2022

Chemistry undergraduate students Yukino Nakamura, Jeffy Jeffy, and Ulises Perez were recognized at the 2022 Diversity, Equity, and Inclusivity Leadership Showcase, held on March 30. This event, presented by the College of Science and Engineering (CSE), highlighted the many DEI-focused student contributions in the areas of student advocacy, volunteer work, and engagement that have a positive impact on CSE, the University, and the Twin Cities communities through DEI initiatives.

2022 Doctoral Dissertation Fellowship recipients
Student Honors/Awards

Five graduate students receive competitive Doctoral Dissertation Fellowships

Posted April 28, 2022

Five Department of Chemistry graduate students have been awarded highly competitive Doctoral Dissertation Fellowships (DDFs) for the 2022-23 academic year. Margaret Clapham, Brianna Collins, Mckenna Hanson, Hannah Holst, and Katherine Jones were selected among 195 nominations from across the University.

Sarah Tanck
Student Honors/Awards

Sarah Tanck, Chem and CEMS undergraduate, awarded 2022 Goldwater Scholarship

Posted April 26, 2022

Sarah Tanck, a junior majoring in Chemistry and Chemical Engineering, is one of two University of Minnesota students to be be recognized as a Goldwater Scholar by the Barry Goldwater Scholarship and Excellence in Education Foundation.

2022 NSF GRFP recipients
Student Honors/Awards

Four students receive NSF graduate research fellowships

Posted April 21, 2022

Four Department of Chemistry students have received fellowships in the National Science Foundation Graduate Research Fellowship Program (GRFP) and two more have earned honorable mentions.

portrait of Huarui Cui
Student Honors/Awards

Huarui Cui awarded the Department of Chemistry’s 2021 Best Thesis Award

Posted April 14, 2022

Huarui Cui, Ph.D., has received the Department of Chemistry’s Best Thesis Award for 2021. Cui earned her doctorate working with Professor Will Pomerantz, researching BET bromodomain chemical probes, especially for BRD4.

Brianna Collins with laptop
Student Profiles

Brianna Collins featured in ‘Inventing Tomorrow’

Posted April 13, 2022

Brianna Collins, a 5th-year graduate student working with Professor Jason Goodpaster, was featured in the Fall 2021 edition of the College of Science and Engineering’s Inventing Tomorrow magazine.