News Highlights

Horizontal headshot of Donald Truhlar

Regents Professor Donald Truhlar awarded Joseph O. Hirschfelder Prize in Theoretical Chemistry

Regents Professor Donald Truhlar has been awarded the Joseph O. Hirschfelder Prize in Theoretical Chemistry. The internationally-recognized award is given by the University of Wisconsin-Madison Theoretical Chemistry Institute.

Energy and U Emmy Statuettes

Four UMN faculty members receive Emmy awards for production role in University of Texas, Rio Grande Valley’s ‘Energía Y TÚ’

Professors Frank Bates, David Blank, Marc Hillmyer, and Aaron Massari have each received a Lone Star Emmy Award for their respective production roles in University of Texas, Rio Grande Valley’s ‘Energía Y TÚ.’ The show, a Spanish adaptation of the University of Minnesota’s own Energy and U, won the award in the Informational/Instructional – Short Form or Long Form Content category.

portrait of Ambika Bhagi-Damodaran

Professor Ambika Bhagi-Damodaran selected for McKnight Land-Grant Professorship award

Assistant Professor Ambika Bhagi-Damodaran has been awarded the 2023-25 McKnight Land-Grant Professorship. The award is designed to advance the careers of highly promising junior faculty members who have the potential to make significant contributions to their departments and to their scholarly fields. The professorship research award amount of $50,000 over two years will support Prof. Bhagi-Damodaran’s ongoing research into molecular engineering of iron enzymes for new therapeutics and sustainable catalysis.

U of M student Mustafa Syed testifies Jan. 18 before House lawmakers with Myron Frans, the school’s senior vice president for finance and operations, during a presentation on asset preservation and replacement needs.

Undergraduate senior Mustafa Syed testifies for new chemistry lab building at state capital

University of Minnesota undergraduate student Mustafa Syed testified in front of the Minnesota House and Senate Capital Investment committees in St. Paul in late January. Syed is an undergraduate senior, testifying in support of the Department of Chemistry’s proposed Undergraduate Chemistry Teaching Laboratory Building.

Group photo of the Roberts Group in a snowy cityscape

Professor Courtney Roberts receives NSF Career Award for group’s catalysis research

Assistant Professor Courtney Roberts has received a National Science Foundation (NSF) CAREER Award to support the ongoing catalysis research of the Roberts Group. The award amount of $770,000 will support the group’s development of new catalytic methods, as well as equitable higher education initiatives.

portrait of Professor Jiali Gao

Professor Jiali Gao receives 2023 ACS Award for Computers in Chemical and Pharmaceutical Research

Professor Jiali Gao has been awarded the 2023 ACS Award for Computers in Chemical and Pharmaceutical Research. Sponsored by the ACS Division of Computers in Chemistry since 2014, the award supports the use of computers in the advancement of the chemical and biological sciences and recognizes significant individual achievement in this area.

More Chemistry News

Chemistry Climate, Community & Culture

The Department of Chemistry has unique features that set it apart and help its students, faculty, and staff thrive and succeed. The department fosters a diverse community and works hard to create an environment where involvement, collaboration, caring, and safety are the norm.